The 2022 Brownlow Medal Count will be held on Sunday, September 18th, with the broadcasting of the Virgin Australia Runway to begin at 7:00pm (AEST).

Held at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne, vote counting is expected to begin at 7:30pm (AEST), along with the usual mix of exciting AFL awards.

In wake of Queen Elizabeth II's passing, the Brownlow Medal 2022 has been brought forward from its usual September 19th scheduling.

Make sure to stay tuned to Zero Hanger in the lead-up to the event, and throughout the count for all your Brownlow Medal news and updates.


Where to watch the 2022 Brownlow on TV

The 2022 Brownlow Medal will be telecasted live on Channel 7 across Australia. Depending on the state, the event may be available on Channel 7 (#70 or #71) or 7Mate (#73). Check your local TV guide beforehand to make sure where to go.

Broadcasts will start at 5:00pm in Perth, 6:30pm in Adelaide, and 7:00pm in Melbourne. This season's Brownlow medallist may not be crowned until 10:30pm AEST, with the night expected to be longer than last year's event in Perth.

Along with the Brownlow voting, the rebel Goal of the Year, Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award, and Four’N Twenty Mark of The Year will be awarded.

Where to live stream the 2022 Brownlow Medal

With Channel 7 holding exclusive rights to the event, the Brownlow Medal will not be streamed online by Kayo Sports or Fox Footy.

However, the Brownlow Medal will be able to be streamed on 7Plus, Channel 7's digital platform, on select devices.

For those without that option, you can follow the Brownlow Medal Live Blog right here on

Who are the favourites for the 2022 Brownlow Medal?

AFL Season 2022 has seen some monumental efforts by its star players. Five Brownlow favourites are predicted to poll highly, with a tight finish expected to come.

Melbourne's Clayton Oliver and Gold Coast's Touk Miller, who shared the Coaches Association award this year, are tipped to poll well after dominant midfield seasons.

Three more midfielders join them in the favourites list: Carlton skipper Patrick Cripps - who tied for the Zero Hanger MVP with Miller - gun Lion and former winner Lachie Neale, and young Fremantle star Andrew Brayshaw.

Who won the 2021 Brownlow Medal?

Port Adelaide's Ollie Wines was named the 2021 Brownlow Medallist after a breakout season. The big-bodied midfielder finished with a remarkable 36 votes, the most of any player in AFL/VFL history.

He was followed closely by Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli and Demons ball-winner Oliver, who is again tipped to finish near the top.

Brownlow schedule

Here are the estimated times for the night's schedule

Runway guest arrivals 5.15pm
Runway broadcast to commence 7.00pm
2022 Charles Brownlow Medal live vote count broadcast to commence 7.35pm
Mark of The Year 8.05pm
Jim Stynes Community Award announcement 9.10pm
Goal of the Year 9.25pm
2022 Charles Brownlow Medal winner announcement 10.15pm
2022 Charles Brownlow Medal winner press conference 10.30pm


The 2022 Brownlow contenders