Just 29 remaining AFL players are eligible for free agency in 2023, which opens this Friday at 9:00am (AEDT).

The headlining names come in the form of restricted free agents, with North Melbourne's Ben McKay, Adelaide's Tom Doedee and St Kilda's Jade Gresham still unsigned for 2024 and are able to exercise their rights as free agents.

McKay's desire to depart Arden Street as well as Doedee's to leave West Lakes, has already been confirmed by the Kangaroos and Crows respectively, while Gresham looks likely to also leave St Kilda this off-season.

The trio of unsigned restricted free agents were joined by Essendon pair Darcy Parish and Mason Redman, GWS swingman Harry Himmelberg (GWS) and Port Adelaide veteran Charlie Dixon (Port Adelaide) earlier in the year before the quartet opted to re-sign.

The names of Sam Docherty, Jack Crisp, Dylan Moore and Tom Liberatore were also among the free agents of 2023 that have recommitted to their respective clubs.

In an update to the free agency list for 2023, 16 clubs currently have free agents listed just days out from the window's opening, with Sydney and Carlton the only sides not to have a player listed.

The Swans have been able to swoop on Melbourne midfielder James Jordon, who was eligible for free agency after being delisted by the Demons three years ago.

Geelong have veteran pair Tom Hawkins and Rhys Stanley listed as free agents, however the premiership pair are said to be nearing new deals to remain at Kardinia Park.

Those that earn inside of the top 25 per cent of their list or have spent at least eight years at their club qualify as restricted free agents.

Players that have previously been qualified as free agents or have been delisted in the past qualify as unrestricted free agents.

The 2023 free agency period will run for one week, ending at 5:00pm on October 13.

2023 AFL free agents

* Previously delisted
** Restricted free agent
^ Previously a free agent

Adelaide (1)

Tom Doedee**

Brisbane (2)

Rhys Mathieson*
Dayne Zorko

Carlton (0)


Collingwood (1)

Cooper Murley*

Essendon (1)

Will Snelling*

Fremantle (1)

Joel Hamling^

Geelong (2)

Tom Hawkins
Rhys Stanley

Gold Coast (3)

Levi Casboult*
Sam Day
Jake Stein*

GWS Giants (2)

Matthew Flynn
Lachlan Keeffe*

Hawthorn (1)

Fergus Greene*

Melbourne (1)

Jake Melksham

North Melbourne (3)

Port Adelaide (1)

Scott Lycett^

Richmond (1)

Bigoa Nyuon*

St Kilda (5)

Tom Campbell*
Jade Gresham**
Daniel McKenzie
Liam Stocker*
Jimmy Webster

Sydney Swans (0)


West Coast (1)

Zane Trew*

Western Bulldogs (3)

Taylor Duryea^
Toby McLean
Roarke Smith*