Melbourne's Kade Chandler has clocked the highest speed of any AFL player so far this season, with the Demons forward setting a strong pace across the opening seven rounds.

Chandler's Opening Round top speed of 35.2 km/h narrowly comes ahead of young Essendon speedster Alwyn Davey's pace of 35.1 km/h set against Adelaide in Round 6.

That same week saw Adelaide's Will Hammill (34.3 km/h), Brisbane's Ryan Lester (33.8), Carlton's Blake Acres (34.2), Collingwood's Bobby Hill (34.7) and Port Adelaide's Jason Horne-Francis (34.8) each set respective recorded high speeds for their sides this season.

Horne-Francis' speed ranks fifth overall for 2024, with Swan Tom Papley one of three players to break the 35 km/h barrier this year while Suns defender Charlie Ballard fell just short of the mark in Round 7.

North Melbourne is home to the 'slowest' fastest player in the competition, with rookie Colby McKercher's top speed of 32.9 km/h the lowest of each club leader across the competition.

New Richmond cult figure Mykelti Lefau set Richmond's season top speed record in his debut in Round 3 against Port Adelaide, reaching a pace of 34.6 km/h.

The highest recorded top speed by the AFL's tracker occurred last year, with renowned Geelong pace-setter Gary Rohan clocking 37.8 km/h in Round 1.

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 04: Kade Chandler of the Demons celebrates a goal during the 2024 AFL Round 04 match between the Adelaide Crows and the Melbourne Demons at Adelaide Oval on April 04, 2024 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

North Melbourne's Charlie Comben set the same speed in Round 7 last year, however that pace could viewed as questionable given Comben was assisted from the field on the medi-cab following a leg injury.

The next highest pace set last year was Adelaide's Izak Rankine at 36.0 km/h, while the previous record before Rohan's was Magpie Oleg Markov, who ran at 37.4 km/h during his time with Richmond in 2019.

Every AFL team's fastest player for 2024*

Club Player Speed (Km/H) Round
Adelaide Will Hamill 34.3 Round 6
Brisbane Ryan Lester 33.8 Round 6
Carlton Blake Acres 34.2 Round 6
Collingwood Bobby Hill 34.7
Round 3, Round 6
Essendon Alwyn Davey 35.1 Round 6
Fremantle Sam Switkowski 33.9 Round 2
Geelong Max Holmes 33.9 Round 3
Gold Coast Charlie Ballard 34.9 Round 7
GWS Toby Bedford 33.4 Round 5
Hawthorn Conor Nash, James Sicily, Mabior Chol 33.2
Round 3, Round 4, Round 5
Melbourne Kade Chandler 35.2 Opening Round
North Melbourne Colby McKercher 32.9 Round 1
Port Adelaide Jason Horne-Francis 34.8 Round 6
Richmond Mykelti Lefau 34.6 Round 3
St Kilda Dan Butler 34.6 Round 5
Sydney Tom Papley 35.0 Round 1
West Coast Jack Petruccelle 34.0 Round 1
Western Bulldogs Laitham Vandermeer, Oskar Baker 33.9
Round 3, Round 4

Up to the end of Round 7, 2024. Data via AFL's Telstra Tracker.