2018 Norm Smith Medal winner Luke Shuey has been confirmed as one of the five judges for this year's award for the 2023 AFL Grand Final.

The recently retired West Coast champion joins three other greats of the game to cast votes on the player judged best-afield in Saturday's decider between Collingwood and Brisbane.

Former Carlton and Adelaide forward Eddie Betts, Western Bulldogs great Luke Darcy and dual premiership ex-Swan Jude Bolton will also take place on the judging panel.

Betts will be voting on behalf of Fox Footy, with other judges Sarah Olle (AFL.com.au), Darcy (Channel Seven) and Bolton (Triple M) also representing their respective media outlets.

Darcy has been named as Chair of the voting panel, giving him the power to make a tie-breaking decision in the result of a draw.

A drawn vote count will be decided by the number of three votes received, with a tie in that outcome then going to the number of two votes received. If still unbroken, then the Chair will break the tie.

All five judges will submit 3,2,1 votes on the top-performing players, with three votes going to the players viewed as best-afield.

Joining Shuey as recent Norm Smith Medal winners are Geelong's Isaac Smith (2022), Melbourne's Christian Petracca (2021) and Richmond's Dustin Martin (2017, 2019 and 2020).

2023 Norm Smith Medal voting panel

Luke Darcy (Channel Seven, Chair)
Eddie Betts (All Australian Selector and Fox Footy)
Jude Bolton (All Australian Selector and Triple M)
Sarah Olle (AFL.com.au)
Luke Shuey (Retired West Coast Eagles Captain and 2018 Norm Smith Medallist)