Throughout the final years of the 1990s, AFL clubs across the land looked backward rather than forward, with selectors, historians and superstars converging to name their Teams of the 20th Century.

So, as we near the quarter-time mark of the 21st century, what better time to run the rule on which players are likely to feature when the selectors of tomorrow get together in several decades' time?

While every club has an array of deadset legends that can be called on, we here at Zero Hanger have employed the following rules of selection:

  • Only statistics recorded and achievements accrued since the start of the 2000 AFL season will be acknowledged.
  • All statistics and awards must have been accrued while playing for the club in question.
  • Any player selected must have played at least 100 senior games for their respective club since the start of the 2000 AFL season.

Next up, we head out to Waverley to hunt down which Hawks have made the cut.


9. Josh Gibson (2010-2016) 

2 x best and fairest (2013 and 2015)
1 x All-Australian (2015)
3 x premiership player (2013, 2014 and 2015)
160 games, 18.5 disposals per game

Despite starting his league career at Arden Street, it would take a shift to Waverley for Gibson to fully flower.

Although his time in brown and gold is brief in comparison to others, Gibson left a lasting legacy.

Throughout Hawthorn's three-peat streak, few generals could profess to have been more consistent than Gibson, certainly none beside him behind the ball.

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 03: Alastair Clarkson and Josh Gibson during the Hawthorn Hawks AFL Grand Final dinner at Crown Palladium on October 3, 2015 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)