MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 17: Jack Riewoldt of the Tigers (left) celebrates a goal with Josh Caddy of the Tigers during the 2018 AFL round 22 match between the Richmond Tigers and the Essendon Bombers at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on August 17, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Herald Sun writer Jon Ralph has named his All-Australian squad of 40 for 2018, with minor premiers Richmond leading the way along with Hawthorn with six selections each, including naming Tigers full-forward Jack Riewoldt as his captain of the side.

“In clearly the best side in the competition he has been durable, brilliant and above all selfless — the personification of a leader,” Ralph wrote in the Herald Sun.

That selection stands out, with many presuming Eagles skipper Shannon Hurn will be named in the side and will lead the 22.

Ralph made his picks of 12 defenders, 13 midfielders, two rucks and 13 forwards.

The All-Australian ruck battle will be one of the most talked about situations when the final 22 is named on the 29th of August, with Max Gawn and Brodie Grundy both mounting a serious case for selection in the 22.

It may result in the side featuring two genuine ruckmen for the first time since 2012, when Nic Naitanui and Dean Cox were selected.

Despite only playing the 14 games, Hawthorn swingman James Sicily was named in Ralph’s squad, having averaged 24 disposals across the half-back line in those games.

Showing the depth of midfield talent that the competition currently possesses, Ralph omitted Brownlow Medalists Trent Cotchin and Gary Ablett from his squad, favouring new faces such as Jackson Macrae and Ben Cunnington.

Ralph selected four-time premiership coach Alastair Clarkson as his All-Australian coach, saying Clarkson has lead a team “filled with no-name kids to the brink of the top four with tactical innovation and flair.”

Fremantle, Gold Coast and St. Kilda were the sides to not feature a squad member.

Ralph’s 40 man All-Australian squad:

Adelaide: 1

Rory Laird (def)

Brisbane: 2

Harris Andrews (def)

Dayne Beams (mid)

Carlton: 1

Patrick Cripps (mid)

Collingwood: 4

Scott Pendlebury (mid)

Steele Sidebottom (mid)

Brodie Grundy (ruck)

Jordan De Goey (fwd)

Essendon: 1

Devon Smith (fwd)

Geelong: 4

Mark Blicavs (def)

Patrick Dangerfield (mid)

Tom Hawkins (fwd)

Tim Kelly (fwd)

GWS: 3

Phil Davis (def)

Lachie Whitfield (def)

Stephen Coniglio (mid)

Hawthorn: 6

Ben Stratton (def)

James Sicily (def)

Isaac Smith (mid)

Tom Mitchell (mid)

Luke Bruest (fwd)

Jack Gunston (fwd)

Melbourne: 2

Clayton Oliver (mid)

Max Gawn (ruck)

North Melbourne: 3

Shaun Higgins (mid)

Ben Cunnington (mid)

Ben Brown (fwd)

Port Adelaide: 1

Robbie Gray (fwd)

Richmond: 6

Alex Rance (def)

Nick Vlaustin (def)

Dustin Martin (fwd)

Josh Caddy (fwd)

Jack Riewoldt (fwd)

Kane Lambert (fwd)

Sydney: 2

Jake Lloyd (def)

Lance Franklin (fwd)

West Coast: 3

Shannon Hurn (def)

Jeremy McGovern (def)

Andrew Gaff (mid)

Western Bulldogs: 1

Jackson Macrae (mid)