Brisbane have extended the contracts of seven young Lions, including talented prospects Archie Smith and Jacob Allison.

The pair were joined by Corey Lyons, Oscar McInerney, Jake Barrett, Mitch Hinge and Matt Eagles.

The commitments were a huge positive for the club, who have experienced issues retaining high-quality young players over recent time.

Young ruckman Archie Smith, who has extended his contract to the end of 2019, is delighted to be staying at the Lions.

“When the Club approached me to extend my contract, it was the easiest decision I’ve ever had to make,” Smith told

“I absolutely love it here, especially with Chris Fagan and David Noble now at the helm. I respect and get along with everyone on our list and really believe we can go far in the next few years.”

Smith faces tough competition for a ruck spot at the Lions, playing six games in 2017, competing with veteran big man Stefan Martin.

"I want to play as many AFL games as I can and prove myself in the ruck," Smith added.

“I’m looking forward to working with Stefan Martin and Oscar McInerney in the pre-season.”

Matt Eagles is perhaps the most intriguing of the re-signings, with the winner of reality program 'The Recruit' extending his tenure at Brisbane.

Eagles starred in the NEAFL Grand Final in a new role as a defender, taking eight intercept marks and gathering 17 intercept possessions.

"I came in as a ruckman and forward at the start, but I struggled a little bit with all the new structures and being in the (AFL) environment all the time," Eagles told

"But they put me in the backline, which was new to me, and I just adapted to that quite quickly and started getting some form halfway through the season and really jelled with the boys.

"I've surprised myself and I like the direction the club's going. Getting another pre-season under my belt will help...and it will be good having Luke Hodge around."

The Lions will hope the pride of re-signed young cubs will help take the Lions up the ladder in the coming seasons after finishing 18th in 2017.