MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 25: Levi Greenwood of the Magpies remonstrates with David Zaharakis of the Bombers during the 2016 AFL Round 05 ANZAC Day match between the Collingwood Magpies and the Essendon Bombers at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on April 25, 2016. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Essendon and Collingwood have announced their squads for the opening JLT Community Series match on Thursday.

Michael Hurley is returning from an ankle injury, he is joined by six other Bombers who are returning from their 2016 suspension. Cale Hooker (hamstring), Brent Stanton (groin) and Tom Bellchambers (knee) will have to wait to make their return.

Hurley rolled his ankle in an intra-club match 10 days ago, but has been cleared to feature against the Pies.

Dyson Heppell will captain the Bombers for the first time, he will be supported by former captain Jobe Watson and a near full-strength squad.

Collingwood have named a youthful line-up with new recruit Daniel Wells and Scott Pendlebury not featuring in the match. Jamie Elliot, Matt Scharenberg and Jackson Ramsey make their long-awaited returns from injuries. Lachlan Keefe has also returned from his 2016 suspension.

New recruits Lynden Dunn and Chris Mayne will make their first appearances for the club. Father-son recruit Josh Daicos has also been named to play.

Collingwood Squad

1. Alex Fasolo
2. Jordan De Goey
5. Jamie Elliott
6. Tyson Goldsack
9. Jesse White
11. Jarryd Blair
12. Matthew Scharenberg
14. James Aish
15. Lynden Dunn
16. Chris Mayne
18. Travis Varcoe
19. Levi Greenwood
21. Tom Phillips
22. Steele Sidebottom
23. Lachlan Keeffe
25. Jack Crisp
26. Josh Daicos
28. Ben Sinclair
30. Darcy Moore
31. Jackson Ramsay
32. Will Hoskin-Elliott
37. Brayden Maynard
38. Jeremy Howe
40. Josh Smith
41. Henry Schade*
43. Adam Oxley
44. Liam Mackie*
45. Max Lynch*
46. Mason Cox*
*Denotes rookie

Essendon squad

1. Andrew McGrath
3. Darcy Parish
4. Jobe Watson
7. Zach Merrett
8. Martin Gleeson
9. Brendon Goddard
11. David Zaharakis
12. Mark Baguley
13. Orazio Fantasia
15. Josh Green
17. James Stewart
18. Michael Hurley
20. Jackson Merrett
21. Dyson Heppell
22. Matthew Leuenberger
23. David Myers
24. Craig Bird
28. Mitch Brown
29. Patrick Ambrose
30. Kyle Langford
32. Travis Colyer
33. Jayden Laverde
34. Jake Long
39. Heath Hocking
40. Ben Howlett
43. Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti
44. Shaun McKernan
47. James Kelly
49. Matt Dea

The match will be played at Etihad stadium, 7:40pm on Thursday night.