The VFL is back on Friday, kicking off with Richmond and Sandringham at Punt Road on midday, followed by an enticing clash between Frankston and Coburg seven hours later at Skybus Stadium.

The new look second-tier competition includes 22 clubs between Victoria, New South Wales and Queensland.

The increase in clubs has brought with it an increase in recognised talent, with each club boasting a strong list filled with former AFL talent.

Patrick McCartin (Sydney), Ryan Bastinac (Aspley), Joe Atley (Essendon), Paul Ahern (Northern Bullants) and Jordan Gallucci (Williamstown) are just some of the ex-AFL names scattered throughout the league.

Standalone clubs clubs Aspley, Coburg, Frankston, Northern Bullants, Port Melbourne, Southport, Werribee and Williamstown have looked to add as much experience from the top flight follow mass list changes in the AFL.

Aligned clubs Sandringham (St Kilda), Box Hill (Hawthorn) and Casey (Melbourne) will rely on their respective AFL clubs to aid their premiership bid, while mixing a crop of their development and senior talent.

With the first two rounds locked in for the next fortnight, the VFL is set to get off to a pulsating start following it's abolishment in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Fans will be able to watch the 2021 VFL season via the Seven Network, Foxtel and Kayo.



Damian Mascitti

Vincent Adduci

Hugh Beasley

Josh Deluca

Fergus Greene

Ed Phillips

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 16: Ed Phillips of the Saints is tackled by James Worpel of the Hawks during the AFLX match between the Hawthorn Hawks and the St Kilda Saints at Etihad Stadium on February 16, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Brayden Kilpatrick

Stuart Horner

Lachlan Walker

Jordan Cunico

Mason De Wit

Elliott Le Grice

Callum Porter

Mackenzie Doreian

Jesse Cucinotta

Trent Mynott

Riley Bowman

James Blanck

Mihael Zalac

Josh Le Grice

Chayce Black

Jai Newcombe

Jamieson Rossiter

Cayden Maki

Adrian Kalcovski

Charlie Beasley

Trent Warren