The VFL is back on Friday, kicking off with Richmond and Sandringham at Punt Road on midday, followed by an enticing clash between Frankston and Coburg seven hours later at Skybus Stadium.

The new look second-tier competition includes 22 clubs between Victoria, New South Wales and Queensland.

The increase in clubs has brought with it an increase in recognised talent, with each club boasting a strong list filled with former AFL talent.

Patrick McCartin (Sydney), Ryan Bastinac (Aspley), Joe Atley (Essendon), Paul Ahern (Northern Bullants) and Jordan Gallucci (Williamstown) are just some of the ex-AFL names scattered throughout the league.

Standalone clubs clubs Aspley, Coburg, Frankston, Northern Bullants, Port Melbourne, Southport, Werribee and Williamstown have looked to add as much experience from the top flight follow mass list changes in the AFL.

Aligned clubs Sandringham (St Kilda), Box Hill (Hawthorn) and Casey (Melbourne) will rely on their respective AFL clubs to aid their premiership bid, while mixing a crop of their development and senior talent.

With the first two rounds locked in for the next fortnight, the VFL is set to get off to a pulsating start following it's abolishment in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Fans will be able to watch the 2021 VFL season via the Seven Network, Foxtel and Kayo.



Jordan Hayden

James Ives

Ryan Bastinac

Benjamin Warren

Erin Wasley-Black

Corey Lyons

Matthew Payne

Jacob Allison

PERTH, AUSTRALIA - JULY 30: Jacob Allison of the Lions runs with the ball during the round 19 AFL match between the West Coast Eagles and the Brisbane Lions at Domain Stadium on July 30, 2017 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

Connor Stackelberg

Matthew Hammelmann

Reece Toye

Jack Rolls

Jonathan Giles

Jonathan Freeman

Jordan Arnold

Matt Eagles

BRISBANE, QUEENSLAND - MAY 26: Matt Eagles of the lions during the round 10 AFL match between the Brisbane Lions and the Sydney Swans at The Gabba on May 26, 2018 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Jason O'Brien/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Jai Fitzpatrick

Thomas Templeton

Michael Hutchinson

Liam Dawson

Jack Lipscombe

Brad Dale

Mitch Crawley

William Wolbers

Isaac Corvo

Jasper Craven

Luke O’Sullivan

Jesse Malthouse

William Gowers

Thomas Baulch

William O’Dwyer

Dylan Smith

Ryan Banks-Smith

Tom Jeffrey

Kobe Tozer

Jake Warren

James Ivers

Perry Lewis-Smith

William Peppin

William McKenzie