GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 16: Heach coach Brendon Bolton speaks to players during a circuit training session at Kurrawa Beach during the Carlton Blues AFL pre-season training camp on December 16, 2015 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Carlton has named Marc Murphy as their captain for the 2017 season.

Murphy will lead a seven man leadership group that will once again include Bryce Gibbs. Kade Simpson is the vice-captain for the third time.

Murphy has been the captain of the Blues since Chris Judd stepped down from the role in 2013.

Dennis Armfield joins as the replacement for retired Andrew Walker, this is the only change in the leadership group from last season.

Carlton coach Brendan Bolton said Murphy is the perfect man to lead the Blues.

“In 2016, we set about building leadership density across our list. This year, we are sticking to the roadmap and ensuring there is a consistent level of leadership across the board,” Bolton said.

“With only one change to our leadership group for 2017, we are building on the foundations that were set last season. Dennis is a very influential member of our playing group and on the clear vote from his teammates, comes into the spot vacated by Andrew Walker.

“Marc continues to be a tremendous leader for our club and across the past 12 months in particular, has played a vital role in shaping and reinforcing our values and behaviours, particularly working closely with the younger players.”

Rounding out the leadership group are Kade Simpson, Bryce Gibbs, Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty and Ed Curnow. Bolton said it is a strong group of leaders.

“Kade, Bryce, Patrick, Sam and Ed are already established leaders at our football club, all finishing in the top five of our Best and Fairest count in 2016 which is a clear indication of them all leading from the front on field too,” Bolton said.

“We know this leadership group will continue to drive high standards for our young playing group as we continue to evolve and grow as a team in 2017.”