Collingwood Magpies Training Session
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 11: Finlay Macrae of the Magpies in action during a Collingwood Magpies AFL training session at The Holden Centre on December 11, 2020 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)

The Victorian Football League has released a squad of 40 players that will make the final cut of the 2022 VFL team of the year, with the final team to be announced on Monday, September 12th during the VFL and VFLW awards.

A total of 21 clubs competed in the first VFL home and away season since 2019 to be completed due to the COVID-19 pandemic forcing the 2020 and 2021 VFL seasons to be suspended.

Starting from the 2021 season, the VFL amalgamated with the NEAFL bringing the total amount of teams from 15 to 22.

The Casey Demons took out the minor premiership for the 2022 VFL season and had four players named in the squad, equal with Werribee and Box Hill.

2022 VFL Team of the Year squad