The two Future Stars teams set to do battle ahead of the 2023 AFL Grand Final have been revealed.

Players in the game were all born in 2006 and will be eligible for the 2024 AFL National Draft. The game will showcase the talents of future AFL players and all of those playing will be striving for a spot in the 2024 AFL Academy Boys Program.

AFL National Academy Manager Tarkyn Lockyer addressed his delight with the game in a statement from the AFL.

“The AFL Futures match is a highlight on the AFL Talent calendar and provides football fans an introduction to the talented young players who are about to enter their draft year," said Lockyer

“We are delighted to be able to play the game ahead of the 2023 Toyota AFL Grand Final and provide the opportunity for our young stars from across the country to experience the excitement of being part of the biggest day of the AFL season.”

A total of 46 players will take part in the game with teams split into Team Selwood and Team Naitanui. The players will arrive in Melbourne on the Friday before the game. They will train at The Hangar in Tullamarine before being addressed by both Joel Selwood and Nic Naitanui at a team dinner.

Sandringham Dragons teammates Levi Ashcroft and Murphy Reid will be in red-hot form heading into the game following their Coates Talent League premiership win last Saturday. Ashcroft featured in the AFL National Championships U18 Boys All-Australian side alongside Finn O'Sullivan and Sid Draper. Levi, the son of Marcus and brother to Will, is a clear highlight among the names listed.

Alongside those four are a plethora of famous surnames. Brothers Ben and Lucas Camporeale, sons of Blues man Scott, will take part. The Burgoyne name will feature in footy once again with Rome, son of Power legend Peter, also named.

Louie Montgomery and Tyler Welsh, the sons of former Power and Crows players respectively, will also feature.

The game will take place at the MCG at 9:35am and will be streamed free on the AFL website and app.

Full teams are listed below.

Team Selwood

1 Levi Ashcroft VIC M
2 Lucas Camporeale SA Glenelg
3 Phoenix Hargrave SA South Adelaide
4 Joe Harrison NSW/ACT
Sydney Swans Academy
5 Taj Hotton VIC M
6 Isaac Kako VIC M Calder Cannons
7 Xavier Lindsay VIC C
Gippsland Power
8 Christian Moraes VIC M Eastern Ranges
9 Murphy Reid VIC M
10 Tobie Travaglia VIC C
11 Malakai Champion WA Subiaco
12 Kade Herbert SA
Woodville-West Torrens
13 Austin van der Struyf WA Claremont
14 Sam Lalor VIC C GWV Rebels
15 Harvey Langford VIC C
Dandenong Stingrays
16 Noah Mraz VIC C
Dandenong Stingrays
17 Joshua Murphy NSW/ACT
Murray Bushrangers
18 Finn O'Sullivan VIC C
Oakleigh Chargers
19 Oliver Warburton VIC C
Murray Bushrangers
20 Jonty Faull VIC C GWV Rebels
27 Oliver Dean TAS Tasmania Devils
28 Flynn Penry VIC C GWV Rebels
29 Tyler Welsh SA
Woodville West-Torrens


Team Naitanui

1 Ben Camporeale SA Glenelg
2 Sid Draper SA South Adelaide
3 Mitch Woods NSW/ACT
4 Clay Shadforth NT NT Academy
South Adelaide
5 Bo Allan WA
7 Archer Day-Wicks VIC C
8 Lucca Grego VIC M Western Jets
9 Zak Johnson VIC M
Northern Knights
10 Leonardo Lombard QLD
11 Sam Marshall QLD
12 Ricky Mentha NT
NT Academy/
Gippsland Power
13 Jagga Smith VIC M
Oakleigh Chargers
14 Joel Cochran NSW/ACT
Sydney Swans Academy
15 Tom Gross VIC M
Oakleigh Chargers
16 Nash King VIC M
17 Harry O'Farrell VIC M Calder Cannons
18 Jobe Shanahan NSW/ACT
19 Josh Smillie VIC M Eastern Ranges
20 Luke Trainor VIC M
Sandringham Dragons
21 Rome Burgoyne SA
Woodville-West Torrents
27 Tom Luck SA
Woodville-West Torrens
28 Tom Gillett QLD