The AFL has today announced that Port Adelaide captain Erin Phillips and St Kilda skipper Hannah Priest have joined the AFLW Competition Committee.

The AFLW Competition Committee helps the AFL Commission with the progression of women's football, including the laws of the game, the tribunal, player movement, competition structure, list rules and talent programs.

The Committee is chaired by AFL Commissioner Simone Wilkie, who is joined by other figures such as Hawthorn AFLW Coach Bec Goddard, Richmond CEO Brendon Gale,and AFL GM Women's Football Nicole Livingstone.

Livingstone thanked the outgoing members of the committee and warmly welcomed Priest and Phillips.

"I would firstly like to thank outgoing Alicia Eva, Chelsea Randall and Trent Cooper for their service on the AFLW Competition Committee- their contribution was critical to the ongoing evolution of women's football," she said.

"It's great to have Hannah and Erin join the AFLW Competition Committee and we look forward to gaining their invaluable perspective as we head towards the 2023 NAB AFLW Season and beyond."

Phillips is a two-time AFLW premiership captain and a three-time premiership player, and was awarded the AFLW Grand Final Best on Ground Award in 2017 and 2022 for the Crows.

Phillips has also won the AFLW best and fairest award in 2017 and 2019, as well as the AFLW Players' MVP in those same years. She is a three-time All-Australian.

Priest joined the competition in 2019 and has never missed a game, being elected co-captain in the 2021 season.

Priest is now the Saint's sole captain and was selected in the AFLW Team of the Year in 2021, whilst she finished third in the Saints' best and fairest last year.