Gold Coast Suns logo

Gold Coast have named midfielder David Swallow and ruckman Jarrod Witts as their co-captains for the 2019 season, after both 2018 skippers Tom Lynch and Steven May left the club last year.

The two 26-year-old’s have recently signed long-term extensions that will see them remain at the Suns until at least the end of the 2024 season, and Gold Coast Chief Executive Mark Evans said it was a reward for the pair’s investment in the club’s future.

“Both David and Jarrod are extremely invested in our football club and are committed to helping us become a team that truly inspires the Gold Coast community,” Evans told

“Over the past 18 months we’ve undertaken a deliberate, but significant reset of our football programs, and it’s exciting to see a number of new additions to our leadership group.

“We believe David and Jarrod, with the support of the leadership group will play a pivotal role in shaping our future, they all display the attributes we are looking for and we congratulate them on their appointments.”

Touk Miller and Pearce Hanley are the club’s Vice Captains, while Alex Sexton, Jarrod Harbrow, Brayden Fiorini and George Horlin-Smith round out the leadership group.