Patrick Dangerfield of the cats in action during the round 22 AFL match between the Brisbane Lions and the Geelong Cats at The Gabba on August 21, 2016 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Jason O'Brien/AFL Media/Getty Images)

How do the favourites fare at the Brownlow?

Geelong’s Patrick Dangerfield is the red hot favourite to take out this year’s Brownlow Medal, at just $1.22.

But history suggests favourites do not always win the coveted award.

Since 2000, only seven favourites have taken Charlie home on Brownlow night.

Of the 16 years in question, West Coast’s Matthew Priddis was the winner with the longest odds, at $41 prior to the count.

See which favourites have won the Brownlow since the year 2000:


1. 2000

Favourite: Anthony Koutoufides (Carlton) Winner: Shane Woewodin (Melbourne)

28 Aug 2000: Shane Woewodin of Melbourne with the medal after winning the 2000 Brownlow Medal Presentation, for the Best and Fairest AFL player, held at Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia. DIGITAL IMAGE. Woewodin won the medal with 22 votes. Mandatory Credit: Hamish Blair/ALLSPORT