MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 21: Tim O'Brien of the Hawks celebrates a goal with Jaeger O'Meara of the Hawks during the 2019 AFL round 18 match between the Geelong Cats and the Hawthorn Hawks at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on July 21, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

Hawthorn swingman Tim O’Brien has penned a two-year contract extension with the Hawks, tying him to the club until the end of the 2021 season.

The Hawks recruited the 25-year-old in the 2012 National Draft, and O’Brien has put together his best season for the club thus far in 2019.

Hawthorn recruitment manager Graham Wright said O’Brien had reaped the benefits of his 2019 campaign, gaining the extension after impressing as both a forward and back over the course of the season.

“We’re excited that Tim has committed to the club for a further two years,” Wright told the club’s website.

“We think he has started to look more and more comfortable at senior level this season and we’ve been impressed by his ability to play as both a key defender and a key forward throughout the year.

“He is a popular man around the club with a strong work ethic and desire to continually learn so we’re looking forward to seeing how he develops beyond this year.”

O’Brien has played 60 games for the Hawks over the course of his seven seasons at the club, kicking 43 goals.

The Hawks still have 18 players off-contract at the end of the season, see the full list down below, as well as each Hawk’s contract here.

Hawthorn 2021 Player Movements

2021 Gains
Kyle Hartigan (Adelaide Crows, 2021), Tom Phillips (Collingwood Magpies, 2022)
2021 Losses
James Frawley (St Kilda Saints), Conor Glass (retired), Will Golds (delisted), Ricky Henderson (retired), Harrison Jones (Essendon Bombers), Darren Minchington (delisted), Paul Puopolo (retired), Jackson Ross (delisted), Isaac Smith (Geelong Cats), Ben Stratton (retired)
Keegan Brooksby (2021), Shaun Burgoyne (2021), Damon Greaves (2021), Oliver Hanrahan (2021), Daniel Howe (2021), Changkuoth Jiath (2021), Harry Morrison (2021), Conor Nash (2021), Jack Scrimshaw (2022)
Off Contract 2021
Luke Breust (unrestricted free agent), Keegan Brooksby, Shaun Burgoyne, James Cousins, Damon Greaves, Oliver Hanrahan, Blake Hardwick, Kyle Hartigan, Daniel Howe, Changkuoth Jiath, Dylan Moore, Harry Morrison, Conor Nash, Tim O'Brien, Tom Scully, James Worpel