The Gold Coast Suns have confirmed four players - Jez McLennan, Matt Conroy, Rhys Nicholls and Patrick Murtagh - will be delisted for the 2023 season.

The club released a statement on Tuesday evening announcing the departure of the four players, who were all off-contract and have not been offered new deals for the 2023 campaign.

None of the four have played at AFL level for the club, with Conroy, Nicholls and Murtagh all being Suns' academy products, while McLennan was picked at number 23 in the 2018 AFL draft, but has failed to make his debut at the top level.

All four have made contributions to the club's reserve line up, who play in the expanded VFL competition.

The Suns' general manager of player talent and strategy Craig Cameron said all four have made contributions to the club.

“Matt, Rhys and Patrick are great stories having graduated from our SUNS Academy onto our AFL list, while Jez has been an important part of football program,” Cameron said.

“We’d like to thank them for their efforts and wish them all the best for what lies ahead.”

The Suns showed some improvement during the 2022 AFL campaign, but ultimately missed the finals by eight points, finishing in 12th spot on 40 points, equal with Port Adelaide, but behind St Kilda. They finished ahead of Hawthorn, Adelaide, Essendon, GWS, the West Coast and North Melbourne on the final table.