Sydney's Isaac Heeney has extended his lead atop the AFL Coaches' Association Champion Player of the Year Award following Round 3.

Heeney now holds a nine-vote lead over Carlton forward Harry McKay, who was one of two players to poll five votes from both coaches over the weekend.

Western Bulldogs midfielder Adam Treloar was the only other player to poll a perfect game, with five others polling nine votes.

Heeney amassed four votes in his side's loss to Richmond to take his season tally to 32 votes, with McKay (23) and GWS gun Tom Green (21) the only other players to have surpassed 20 votes for the season so far.

Gold Coast's Matt Rowell and Fremantle's Caleb Serong round out the top five at the conclusion of Round 3.

Here's how the coaches voted, with the current leaderboard attached below...

Brisbane vs Collingwood

9 - Jamie Elliott (COLL)
9 - Lachie Neale (BL)
5- Nick Daicos (COLL)
3- Tom Mitchell (COLL)
2- Hugh McCluggage (BL)
1- John Noble (COLL)
1 - Billy Frampton (COLL)

North Melbourne vs Carlton

10- Harry McKay (CARL)
8- George Hewett (CARL)
6- Patrick Cripps (CARL)
3- Charlie Curnow (CARL)
2- Elijah Hollands (CARL)
1- Adam Cerra (CARL)

Fremantle vs Adelaide

9- Hayden Young (FRE)
7- Alex Pearce (FRE)
5- Jordan Clark (FRE)
4- Michael Walters (FRE)
3- Luke Ryan (FRE)
1- Caleb Serong (FRE)
1- Mark Keane (ADEL)

Essendon vs St Kilda

9- Andrew McGrath (ESS)
5- Zach Merrett (ESS)
4- Nic Martin (ESS)
4- Sebastian Ross (STK)
3- Jack Steele (STK)
2- Dyson Heppell (ESS)
2- Bradley Hill (STK)
1- Xavier Duursma (ESS)

Port Adelaide vs Melbourne

8- Max Gawn (MELB)
8- Alex Neal-Bullen (MELB)
8- Willem Drew (PORT)
2- Connor Rozee (PORT)
2- Travis Boak (PORT)
1- Trent Rivers (MELB)
1- Dan Houston (PORT)

Western Bulldogs vs West Coast

10- Adam Treloar (WB)
7- Bailey Williams (WB)
4- Aaron Naughton (WB)
3- Lachie Bramble (WB)
2- Jeremy McGovern (WCE)
2- Tim English (WB)
2- Laitham Vandermeer (WB)

Richmond vs Sydney

8- Nick Vlastuin (RICH)
8- Tim Taranto (RICH)
8- Shai Bolton (RICH)
4- Isaac Heeney (SYD)
2- Daniel Rioli (RICH)

Hawthorn vs Geelong

9- James Worpel (HAW)
6- Oliver Henry (GEEL)
5- Mitch Duncan (GEEL)
4- Max Holmes (GEEL)
3- Tanner Bruhn (GEEL)
3- Tyson Stengle (GEEL)

AFLCA Voting Leaderboard - Round 3

32 Isaac Heeney SYD
23 Harry McKay CARL
21 Tom Green GWS
18 Matt Rowell GCFC
18 Caleb Serong FRE
17 Zak Butters PORT
17 Max Gawn MELB
16 Luke Jackson FRE
15 Jesse Hogan GWS
15 Christian Petracca MELB
14 Connor Rozee PORT
14 Sam Taylor GWS
14 Nick Vlastuin RICH
13 Patrick Cripps CARL
13 Andrew McGrath ESS
13 Zach Merrett ESS
12 Nick Daicos COLL
12 Willem Drew PORT
12 George Hewett CARL
12 Touk Miller GCFC
12 Alex Neal-Bullen MELB