A thrilling AFLW Grand Final has seen Melbourne claim the premiership over Brisbane by four points to conclude the Season Seven campaign.

The Demons claimed their inaugural AFLW flag with a 19-15 win over the Lions in Springfield in front of over 7,400 fans.

Stunningly, Brisbane defender Shannon Campbell claimed best-on-ground honours despite being on the losing side after collecting an equal game-high 19 possessions to go along with her 8 marks for the match.

Brisbane got the game started on the right foot, with tall forward Dakota Davidson booting the opening goal of the game before Cath Svarc quickly doubled their tally within a minute.

A strong opening quarter for the Lions would continue at the other end of the field, with defender Nat Grider bringing down Demon Megan Fitzsimon just 15 metres out from goal in what was a goal-saving effort by the All-Australian.

After a goalless opening term to the match, Melbourne finally broke their drought in the following quarter through Blaithin Mackin, who kicked truly after some great link-up play from the Demons. 

Brisbane were left sweating on the fitness of skipper Breanna Koenen in the opening half, with the Lions defender requiring assistance on the sidelines due to a right knee issue.

The Lions captain would eventually return to the field after being deemed fit to play, giving Brisbane a much-needed boost in the second half.

A third quarter-goal from Melbourne forward Tayla Harris saw the Demons reclaim the lead, with Melbourne carrying a two-point buffer into the final team and leaving the Lions without a goal for two successive quarters.

Melbourne veteran Karen Paxman would join Koenen in requiring medical assistance mismatch, having been assisted off the field late into the match.

The highly contested affair would reach its climax when Alyssa Bannan and Phoebe Monaghan would chase after a loose ball deep into Melbourne's forward line with less than a minute remaining, with Monaghan eventually negating any score and see her side move the ball out of defence.

The siren would soon sound as the Demons claimed a famous four-point win.

The grand final win sees Melbourne claim their first premiership in the AFLW, having first joined the league in 2017.

Best On Ground Medal voting

12 - Shannon Campbell, Brisbane Lions - 33222
11 - Eliza West, Melbourne - 33221
3 - Natalie Grider, Brisbane Lions - 3
3 - Olivia Purcell, Melbourne - 111
1 - Cathy Svarc, Brisbane Lions - 1