MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 18: Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats runs with the ball during the round 13 AFL match between the Western Bulldogs and the Geelong Cats at Etihad Stadium on June 18, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Dangerfield crowned AFL Coaches Association player of the year

Patrick Dangerfield has been crowned the AFL Coaches Association’s player of the year.

Dangerfield won the award with a record 121 votes, winning by an incredible margin of 28 votes, ahead of former Adelaide teammate, Rory Sloane.

Richmond’s Dustin Martin finished third on 90 votes.

Dangerfield played every game in 2016, averaging 31.3 disposals per game (second in the competition), 8.1 inside 50s (first) and 6.6 clearances (equal fourth).

Geelong has two players finish in the top five, with captain Joel Selwood finishing equal fifth with Sydney’s Luke Parker, on 86 votes for the year.

AFLCA Champion Player of the Year top 10
1. Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong) 121
2. Rory Sloane (Adelaide) 93
3. Dustin Martin (Richmond) 90
4. Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs) 88
5. Luke Parker (Sydney Swans) 86
5. Joel Selwood (Geelong) 86
7. Dan Hannebery (Sydney Swans) 83
8. Luke Shuey (West Coast) 82
9. Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide) 77
10. Josh Kennedy (Sydney Swans) 69
10. Josh Kennedy (West Coast) 69