Understated Eagles interceptor Tom Barrass has capped off a sterling 2022 season by winning his debut John Worsfold Medal, awarded to Wests Coasts' seasonal club champion.

While West Coast's 2-20 season left the 26-year-old with plenty on his plate, Barrass consumed pressure and forward thrusts with a steady hand, averaging 3.8 intercept possessions and 7.5 spoils throughout his 19 starts.

Resolute and rarely spoken, the Claremont product saluted a full 33 votes ahead of his former skipper and man cut from the same mold, Shannon Hurn.

Having finished in fourth place off the back of his deeds during the 2020 season, Barrass' 182 votes represent the greatest haul of his eight-year career.

In claiming the club's top prize, the member of the All-Australian 40-man squad joined a decorated defensive ilk of Eagles including Glen Jakovich, Ashley McIntosh, Darren Glass and Eric Mackenzie to have done so.

Barrass will remain a key cog in the club's upcoming rebuild having inked a fresh deal in December of last year that would keep him in yellow and blue until the cessation of the 2027 season.

Fellow premiership defender Jeremy McGovern and dual Worsfold medallist Elliot Yeo were ordained with West Coast life membership after surpassing their respective 150-game milestones.

Offensive pillar Oscar Allen earned the Chris Mainwaring Medal, awarded to the Eagles' best clubman, with fresh-faced recruit Brady Hough dubbed the club's best emerging talent.


1. Tom Barrass – 182 votes
2. Shannon Hurn – 149
3. Tim Kelly – 131
4. Jack Darling – 120
5. Liam Duggan – 118
6. Jack Redden – 112
7. Luke Shuey – 105
8. Jamie Cripps – 96
9. Jamaine Jones – 84
10. Liam Ryan – 77