MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 03: Tim Kelly of the Cats celebrates after kicking a goal during the round 20 AFL match between the Richmond Tigers and the Geelong Cats at Melbourne Cricket Ground on August 3, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Cats star Tim Kelly is currently the favourite to win the Brownlow Medal, according to Champion Data’s predictor following 12 rounds of action.

His team sits on the top of the ladder with only one loss so far. Geelong will be eager to please Kelly after the 24-year-old requested a trade back home to Perth during the off-season.

However, he may be only the second Brownlow medallist to change clubs after immediately after. The first being Graham Moss who won the award in 1976 while playing for Essendon before moving to the WAFL and Claremont.

The Champion Data predictor has Kelly (16 votes) ahead of teammate Patrick Dangerfield (14.9), Dockers co-captain Nathan Fyfe 14.5) and Carlton stud Patrick Cripps (13.6).

Last October, the Eagles offered Geelong picks 20 and 22 and a future second-round pick for Kelly but it’ll be a struggle for them to offer something of similar value if Kelly makes another request.

Leigh Matthews said on 3AW that Kelly is the best player in the league this year. “You could say after Round 12, Tim Kelly’s been the best performed player in the game,” Matthews said.

“Let’s face it, you wouldn’t swap him for (this year’s) No.1 pick, would you? I wouldn’t. He’s (24), so you wouldn’t swap him for an 18 year old who might be as good as Tim Kelly – yeah, you might get an extra five years – but he might not be anywhere near as good,” he said.

Until the end of the season, Geelong will be happy with their success and hope that they can sell Kelly on his current team.

With a bye this week, Geelong next play away against Port Adelaide.


1. Tim Kelly (Geelong) 16 votes

2. Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong) 14.9

3. Nat Fyfe (Fremantle) 14.5

4. Patrick Cripps (Carlton) 13.6

5. Travis Boak (Port Adelaide) 13

6. Lachie Neale (Brisbane) 13

7. Adam Treloar (Collingwood) 11.6

8. Rory Sloane (Adelaide) 11.6

9. Josh Kelly (GWS) 10.4

10. Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood) 10.1