Brisbane Lions legend Jonathan Brown (Image:

The Brisbane Lions unveiled their 2023 Hall of Fame inductees on Wednesday evening, elevating two icons to the prestigious 'legend' status.

Brisbane greats Simon Black and Jonathan Brown were recognised as the latest recipients of the Lions' highest honour on Wednesday evening, earning the rare 'legend' status, while a further nine were inducted into Brisbane's Hall of Fame.

Before Wednesday, only four Lions had previously accomplished 'legend' status.

Black, the first of the pair elevated on Wednesday, played 322 games in Lions colours, winning the Brownlow Medal in 2002 and polling 178 career votes; the most by a Brisbane player.

The prolific midfielder was a three-time club best and fairest winner and a three-time All Australian. He became Brisbane's fifth legend before Brown made it six Lions immortals.

Brown, meanwhile, played 256 decorated games for Brisbane from 2000-2014, consistently demonstrating his skill, courage, and leadership as the Lions enjoyed an exceedingly successful era, winning three flags between 2001-03.

The spearhead forward, who also captained the Lions for seven seasons, became the sixth Brisbane Lions legend on Wednesday night, following in the footsteps of fellow inductee Black, Kevin Murray, Haydn Bunton, Michael Voss, and Garry Wison.

In addition to the pair of legend elevations, nine former Lions were inducted into the Brisbane Hall of Fame: Harvey Merrigan, Mal Michael, Wilfred Smallhorn, Mick Grace, Collingwood coach Craig McRae, Michael McLean, Martin Pike, Clark Keating, and Daniel Bradshaw.

Brisbane's Hall of Fame ceremony took place at the same time the AFL's Awards Night was unfolding, with dynamic forward Charlie Cameron representing the Lions' sole selection to the final All Australian team that was announced in Melbourne on Wednesday evening.