Martin Gleeson of the Bombers is tackled during the round 23 AFL match between the Essendon Bombers and the Carlton Blues at Melbourne Cricket Ground on August 27, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Bombers lock away Gleeson until 2018

Essendon’s Marty Gleeson has agreed to a two-year contract extension at the Bombers.

The new deal will see the agile defender remain at the Bombers until at least the end of the 2018 season.

Top Stories

Gleeson said he has confidence in the football program established under John Worsfold.

“I’ve really enjoyed my first season under Woosha and I’m excited to be continuing my career at Essendon,” Gleeson said.

“The bond amongst the players is really strong, we have made some great progress as a playing group this season, we are demanding elite standards of each other and building a really strong team culture.

“We know we have plenty of hard work ahead of us if we want to compete with the elite sides in the competition, but we also have so much to look forward to in 2017 and this is a team I want to be part of.”

Gleeson joins Aaron Francis as the second young defender to re-sign with the Club this week.

Essendon Bombers 2017 Player Movements

2017 Gains: Joshua Begley (2018), Dylan Clarke (2018), Sam Draper (2018), Josh Green (Brisbane Lions, 2017), Andrew McGrath (2018), Ben McNiece (2017), Kobe Mutch (2018), Jordan Ridley (2018), James Stewart (GWS Giants, 2018)
2017 Losses: Jason Ashby (delisted), Adam Cooney (retired), Yestin Eades (delisted), Shaun Edwards (Sydney Swans), James Gwilt (delisted), Michael Hibberd (Melbourne Demons), Nick Kommer (delisted), Tayte Pears (retired), Tom Wallis (delisted)
Re-Signed: Patrick Ambrose (2017), Tom Bellchambers (2018), Travis Colyer (2019), Matt Dea (2018), Aaron Francis (2019), Martin Gleeson (2018), Brendon Goddard (2017), Michael Hartley (2018), Heath Hocking (2017), Cale Hooker (2021), Ben Howlett (2017), Michael Hurley (2022), James Kelly (2017), Kyle Langford (2018), Jayden Laverde (2018), Jake Long (2017), Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti (2019), Conor McKenna (2017), Zach Merrett (2021), David Myers (2019), Brent Stanton (2017)
Off Contract 2017: Patrick Ambrose, Mark Baguley, Craig Bird, Mitch Brown, Joe Daniher, Brendon Goddard, Josh Green, Heath Hocking, Ben Howlett, James Kelly, Jake Long, Conor McKenna, Shaun McKernan, Ben McNiece, Jackson Merrett, Alex Morgan, Darcy Parish, Brent Stanton, Jobe Watson, David Zaharakis