MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER: Andrew McLeod of the Crows holds up the Norm Smith medal and his Premiership medal after winning the 1998 AFL Grand Final between North Melbourne and the Adelaide Crows at the Melbourne Cricket Ground September, 1998 in Melbourne, Australia. (photo by Getty Images).

AFLNT Team of the Century

The Northern Territory Government has announced the AFLNT Team of the Century.

AFLNT released a list of the 100 best players from the Northern Territory over the past century earlier this year, before cutting the list to 40, and then finally announcing the best 22 from the past 100 years this weekend.

The list includes players who starred at AFL level who began their careers in the Northern Territory, as well as local legends who played their entire careers up north.

Adelaide champion Andrew McLeod was named captain of the side, while there were three Rioli’s named in the team.

Hawthorn star Cyril Rioli was the only current player named in the side.

B: Joel Bowden, Russell Jeffrey, Bill Dempsey
HB: Nathan Buckley, Michael Athanasiou, Michael McLean
C: Michael Long, Andrew McLeod (captain), John Tye
HF: Michael Graham, Joe Bonson, Maurice Rioli
F: Darryl White, Dennis Dunn, Gympie Lew-Fatt
Foll: David Kantilla (vice-captain), Reuben Cooper, Cyril Rioli Jr
I/C: Walter Lew-Fatt, Gilbert McAdam, Cyril Rioli Snr, Jimmy Anderson

Coach John Taylor