BRISBANE, QUEENSLAND - MAY 01: Kurt Tippett of the Swans during the round six AFL match between the Brisbane Lions and the Sydney Swans at The Gabba on May 1, 2016 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Jason O'Brien/AFL Media/Getty Images)

With the NRL’s State of Origin taking place over the next six weeks, it’s that time of year where punters jump aboard the bandwagon and discuss the possibility of the AFL reintroducing the concept.

A lot of potential Victorian, South Australian and West Australian teams are mooted, but what about the two states that contest rugby league’s showcase event?

For the record, I would love to see the concept teased back into AFL, perhaps in a condensed format during the NAB Challenge.

It would largely be unrealistic to attempt to run a full competition during or after the season, as the NRL is having problems of its own with the scheduling.

Nonetheless, here are 22 players that Queensland could select in a possible State of Origin competition, with their hometown/city listed.

Note: The criteria for AFL state of origin selection is applied to players who played most of their junior games in a particular state or territory.

B: Rory Thompson (Parkwood), Courtenay Dempsey (Manunda), Jarrod Harbrow (Manunda)

HB: Lachlan Keefe (Gympie), Daniel Merrett (Southport), Brendan Whitecross (Kedron)

C: David Armitage (Mackay), Dayne Beams (Mudgeeraba), Ben Keays (Redland)

HF: Kurt Tippett (Gold Coast), Tom Bell (Wynum), Charlie Cameron (Mornington Island)

F: Charlie Dixon (Redlynch), Nick Riewoldt (Robina), Jesse White (Daisy Hill)

SEE ALSO:  FINAL TEAMS: Adelaide vs Gold Coast

Foll: Zac Smith (Rockhampton), Josh Thomas (Redland), Dayne Zorko (Benowa)

I/C: Harris Andrews (Aspley), Tom Hickey (Redland), Claye Beams (Labrador), Shaun Hampson (Mount Gravatt)

Check out our NSW team here


  1. That would actually be a cracking game! Few depth issues especially Jesse White, Shaun Hampson. But quality midfield in Zorko, Beams, Armitage and dangerous forward line in Roo and Charlie Dixon needs to happen asap! Qld v NSW, SA v VIC, WA v TAS. SA v VIC every year. QLD, NSW, TAS and WA rotate going on who won previous year Winners play each other. Losers play each other

Comments are closed.