Ahead of this year's anticipated AFL Awards night, the AFL Players Association has revealed every club's nominees for the 2023 AFL Most Valuable Player Award, Best First-Year Player, Best Captain and Most Courageous Player.

Each club has three nominees that are eligible for the AFL MVP Award, with the award given to the player who shows skill and courage, leadership qualities, ability to perform in high-pressure situations, and versatility for when their team needs it.

The votes are given out by all players across the competition, with every player afforded the chance to vote on who they deem to be this year's MVP.

The best first-year player sees one player who is in their maiden season from all 18 clubs nominated, while the most courageous player award also has one player from each club nominated.

This season's full list of nominees is listed below.

Adelaide Crows

MVP: Taylor Walker, Rory Laird, Jordan Dawson

Best First-Year Player: Max Michalanney

Best Captain: Jordan Dawson

Most Courageous Player: Lachie Murphy

Brisbane Lions

MVP: Josh Dunkley, Lachie Neale, Harris Andrews

Best First-Year Player: Will Ashcroft

Best Captain: Lachie Neale, Harris Andrews

Most Courageous Player: Josh Dunkley


MVP: Charlie Curnow, Jacob Weitering, Adam Cerra

Best First-Year Player: Ollie Hollands

Best Captain: Patrick Cripps

Most Courageous Player: Sam Docherty


MVP: Darcy Moore, Nick Daicos, Jordan De Goey

Best First-Year Player: Jakob Ryan

Best Captain: Darcy Moore

Most Courageous Player: Brayden Maynard


MVP: Zach Merrett, Kyle Langford, Jordan Ridley

Best First-Year Player: Alwyn Davey Jnr

Best Captain: Zach Merrett

Most Courageous Player: Brandon Zerk-Thatcher


MVP: Andrew Brayshaw, Caleb Serong, Luke Ryan

Best First-Year Player: Tom Emmett

Best Captain: Alex Pearce

Most Courageous Player: Ethan Hughes

Geelong Cats

MVP: Tom Stewart, Gryan Miers, Mark Blicavs

Best First-Year Player: Jhye Clark

Best Captain: Patrick Dangerfield

Most Courageous Player: Tom Atkins

Gold Coast Suns

MVP: Noah Anderson, Charlie Ballard, Jarrod Witts

Best First-Year Player: Bailey Humphrey

Best Captain: Jarrod Witts, Touk Miller

Most Courageous Player: Wil Powell

GWS Giants

MVP: Sam Taylor, Stephen Coniglio, Toby Greene

Best First-Year Player: Aaron Cadman

Best Captain: Toby Greene

Most Courageous Player: Jack Buckley


MVP: James Sicily, Will Day, Jai Newcombe

Best First-Year Player: Josh Weddle

Best Captain: James Sicily

Most Courageous Player: Blake Hardwick


MVP: Jack Viney, Christian Petracca, Max Gawn

Best First-Year Player: Matthew Jefferson

Best Captain: Max Gawn

Most Courageous Player: Jack Viney

North Melbourne

MVP: Luke Davies-Uniacke, Nick Larkey, Harry Sheezel

Best First-Year Player: Harry Sheezel

Best Captain: Luke McDonald and Jy Simpkin

Most Courageous Player: Cam Zurhaar

Port Adelaide 

MVP: Zak Butters, Connor Rozee, Dan Houston

Best First-Year Player: Tom McCallum

Best Captain: Tom Jonas

Most Courageous Player: Zak Butters


MVP: Dustin Martin, Daniel Rioli, Tim Taranto

Best First-Year Player: Tylar Young

Best Captain: Dylan Grimes, Toby Nankervis

Most Courageous Player: Liam Baker

St Kilda

MVP: Jack Sinclair, Callum Wilkie, Rowan Marshall

Best First-Year Player: Mattaes Phillipou

Best Captain: Jack Steele

Most Courageous Player: Jimmy Webster


MVP: Luke Parker, Errol Gulden, Chad Warner

Best First-Year Player: Jack Buller

Best Captain: Luke Parker, Callum Mills, Dane Rampe

Most Courageous Player: Callum Mills

West Coast Eagles

MVP: Liam Duggan, Oscar Allen, Tim Kelly

Best First-Year Player: Reuben Ginbey

Best Captain: Luke Shuey

Most Courageous Player: Liam Duggan

Western Bulldogs

MVP: Marcus Bontempelli, Tom Liberatore, Tim English

Best First-Year Player: James O'Donnell

Best Captain: Marcus Bontempelli

Most Courageous Player: Tom Liberatore

The AFL Awards will take place on Wednesday, August 30 at Centrepiece in Melbourne. The event will be broadcast live on Fox Footy from 7:00 PM (AEST).