MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 17: Gary Ablett of the Suns chats to Luke Hodge of the Hawks during the 2016 AFL Captains Day at Etihad Stadium on March 17, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

A host of players, umpires and officials have been awarded AFL Life Memberships by the league.

Current players Gary Ablett, Luke Hodge, Jarrad McVeigh, Matthew Boyd and Leigh Montagna automatically qualify for the achievement having played 300 games.

St Kilda CEO Matt Finnis told Montagna was a worthy recipient of the prestigious award.

“Leigh Montagna receiving AFL life membership is absolutely due recognition for the career of one of our clubs most loyal, reliable and durable players,” Finnis Said.

“To have a career approaching his 16th season – a career that has spanned nearly three times the length of an average AFL career – you only achieve that through a level of professionalism that very few players are able to achieve.”

Sydney Swans director and long-time AFL commission member Sam Mostyn will become only the second woman in VFL/AFL history to receive the award. She receives it alongside dual Essendon premiership player John Birt and inaugural West Coast captain Ross Glendinning for their ‘Special Service to the Game’.

Umpires Dean Margetts, Simon Meredith and Matthew Nicholls will be awarded life membership by the AFL, having notched 300 total games of officiating.

Geelong volunteer Les Bailey was awarded the Jack Titus Service Award for outstanding service to football.

AFL life Membership

John Birt
Ross Glendinning
Sam Mostyn
Gary Ablett jnr
Matthew Boyd
Luke Hodge
Jarrad McVeigh
Leigh Montagna
Dean Margetts
Simon Meredith
Matthew Nicholls

Jack Titus Award

Les Bailey