The opening 13 rounds for the 2024 VFL season have been released, with the AFL placing a large focus on standalone clubs meeting on multiple occasions this year.

Werribee, Williamstown and Southport are set to meet twice in 2024, as will Port Melbourne, Frankston, Coburg and Northern Bullants, with the seven Victorian standalone clubs playing 10 home games from their 18 season matches.

The seven Victorian AFL-affiliated clubs will play just eight home games as opposed to standard nine.

The season will commence at RSEA Park between Sandringham and Collingwood on Friday, March 22, with Round 2 set to see four games held on Good Friday.

A competition bye is scheduled between Rounds 2 and 3 as the VFL representative team heads to South Australia to face its SANFL equivalent as part of the Gather Round schedule.

Reigning premiers Gold Coast will host the sole grand final rematch against Werribee in Round 10 at Heritage Bank Stadium.

All matchups after Round 13 have been confirmed, with dates, times and venues to be confirmed at a later date.

"We are excited to build on a really positive 2023 for both the Smithy's VFL and VFLW and get the 2024 season underway on March 22. We have made enhancements to the fixtures to help ensure 2024 is even bigger and better for our clubs, players and fans," AFL Head of State League Competitions Jennie Loughnan said.

“In the VFL, the structure of the fixture has been tweaked to ensure there are more matches featuring two standalone clubs, who will also now play 10 home matches instead of nine. This will help to foster traditional rivalries and attract crowds for those clubs."

You can view the full available 2024 VFL Fixture HERE