Teams for Sunday's State Game between the WAFL and SANFL have been named, with the Sandgropers looking to claim their first win over the Croweaters since 2018.

Set to host South Australia at Optus Stadium this weekend, the Western Australian representatives have six players from reigning WAFL premiers East Fremantle named in their 26-man squad.

Sharks defender Matthew Jupp will captain the side, while star teammates Brynn Teakle, Milan Murdock and Jed Hagan will also feature.

East Perth have five players in the side despite Sandover Medal winner Hamish Brayshaw missing, with Angus Schumacher and Mitch Crowden named.

Other key names set to feature in the side are West Perth's Tyler Keitel, Peel Thunder's Jacob Blight, West Coast's Trey Ruscoe and Calremony's Bailey Rogers.

The SANFL have named nine debutants in their 23-man side for Sunday's clash, with the South Australians to be led by Woodville-West Torrens star Joey Sinor.

Sinor will be joined by teammates Luke Beecken and James Rowe, with Beecken set to make his first appearance for the SANFL.

Geelong Mid-Season Draft recruit Mitch Hardie (middle right) with Woodville-West Torrens teammates (left to right) Joseph Sinor, James Rowe and Connor Ballenden after the 2023 SA vs WA State Game (Image: Instagram, @eagleswwtfc)

Aiden Grace (Central), Connor McFadyen (Sturt), Tom Donnelly (Norwood), Brinn Little (Central), Amos Doyle (Sturt), Billy Cootee (Norwood), Riley Holder (Glenelg), and Matt Ling (Norwood) are also first-gamers named for Sunday's match.

Central District's Jez McLennan will look to back up his strong performance from last month against the VFL, while Rowe and Sturt's Casey Voss are both a chance of securing their second Fos Williams Medals.

The 2024 State Game will take place at 12.45pm local time at Optus Stadium on Sunday.


FB: (19) Will Coomblas, (26) Brinn Little, (18) Jez McLennan
HB: (21) Chris Curran, (25) Tom Donnelly, (15) Luke Beecken
C: (11) Harrison Wigg, (10) Joseph Sinor, (6) Casey Voss
HF: (2) Eamon Wilkinson, (20) Connor McFadyen, (17) Luke Reynolds
FF: (12) Baynen Lowe, (28) Mitch Harvey, (13) Aiden Grace
FO: (30) Amos Doyle, (14) Mitch O'Neill, (16) James Rowe

INT: (4) Billy Cootee, (8) Corey Lyons, (27) Riley Holder, (7) Matt Ling, (5) Campbell Combe


FB: (30) Jacob Blight, (1) Matthew Jupp, (8) Michael Sellwood
HB: (11) Fraser Turner, (10) Zac Guadagnin, (7) Cameron Eardley
C: (23) Jesse Turner, (5) Angus Schumacher, (15) Greg Clark
HF: (18) Ben Sokol, (29) Tyler Keitel, (4) Matthew Parker
FF: (27) Oliver Eastland, (20) Trey Ruscoe, (12) Jed Hagan
FO: (28) Brynn Teakle, (2) Milan Murdock, (6) Nik Rokahr

INT: (13) Bailey Rogers, (9) Angus Scott, (3) Stan Wright, (22) Jye Chalcraft, (26) Chad Pearson