SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 08: Callum Mills of the Swans speaks to John Longmire, coach of the Swans, after the round four AFL match between the Sydney Swans and the Essendon Bombers at Sydney Cricket Ground on April 08, 2021 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/AFL Photos/via Getty Images)

The Swans have confirmed that their co-captain trio will lead the club once again in 2023, with Callum Mills, Dane Rampe and Luke Parker appointed captains for the second year in a row.

The trio, who captained the side to a grand final appearance in 2022, will be supported by five other players in an eight-man leadership group, consisting of Lance Franklin, Tom Papley, Jake Lloyd, Isaac Heeney and Will Hayward.

Hayward, who made his debut for the Swans in 2017, is a new inclusion into the leadership team off the back of a strong 2022 season.

Reigning best and fairest Mills, who will co-captain for a second consecutive season, said he was proud to lead the team for another season.

“I'm very proud to be leading the club alongside Dane and Luke for another season. We have a great history at this footy club, and it's a very exciting time to be here,” Mills said.

“We have an enthusiastic group who are driven to be better every day, and we can't wait for the 2023 season to get underway.”

Sydney General Manager of Football Charlie Gardiner said the club was fortunate to have the trio lead the club.

“Luke, Dane and Callum set a great example not only in the way they consistently prepare and perform at an elite level, but the way they invest in our football club more broadly,” Gardiner said.

“They support and complement one another extremely well, and the model has worked for us over the past couple of years.

“We're very fortunate to have three outstanding leaders in Luke, Dane and Callum guiding our young squad again in 2023.