Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker and Dane Rampe have officially been announced as co-captains of the Sydney Swans for the upcoming 2019 season.

Kennedy has been the skipper for the past two years where he achieved back to back finals appearances, as the three time Club Champion is being supported by a pair of vice captains as they share the captaincy in 2019.

Parker is a Victorian who was picked up in the 2010 AFL Draft with pick 40. The premiership player and All Australian has played 173 games at the Swans and has won two Bob Skilton Medals.

Rampe is a local who just signed a new three year deal at the club. Sydney finally gave him a chance in 2012 after Rampe was overlooked in four drafts. He has played 138 games and has one All Australian to his name.

Kennedy, Parker and Rampe is great for the club going forward according to Swans head coach, John Longmire.

“Josh has clearly been one of our most consistent and important performers for a long time now, but what has been particularly impressive in his last two seasons as captain is his ability to develop our next generation of leaders,” Longmire told

“To be able to add two more players with captaincy experience to our playing group alongside Josh, Jarrad McVeigh and Kieren Jack, really broadens the leadership capabilities within the team.

“I’ve long said that leadership isn’t about set numbers – it’s about the right people for the job.

“So it’s a fantastic outcome to be in the position where we have three outstanding and deserved co-captains in Josh, Luke and Dane, who will help lead and drive the group.

“We’ve seen what a competitor Josh has been over the journey, but to now have two just as driven, hard-working and all-round good people in Luke and Dane join him as co-captains is a great result. As co-captains, they’ll each bring their own strengths to the role.”

In the past 14 years, the Swans have had co-captains in 12 seasons so this isn't anything new for Sydney.