Home AFL News Swans announce 2020 leadership group

Swans announce 2020 leadership group

Lance Franklin has joined the leadership group for the first time, as the Swans announce their captains for next season.

GEELONG, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 28: Luke Parker of the Swans leads the team out during the round six AFL match between the Geelong Cats and Sydney Swans at GMHBA Stadium on April 28, 2018 in Geelong, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Sydney has announced their leadership group for the 2020 season, with the club confirming Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker and Dane Rampe will continue as co-captains for the second straight season.

Callum Mills will remain in his leadership position and has also been joined by Lance Franklin, who joins the group for the first time.

“Josh, Luke and Dane did a wonderful job as co-captains in 2019, so we were keen to continue with that structure. They’re all outstanding leaders who drive high standards,” Swans coach John Longmire told the club’s website.

“Lance has been elevated by the players in recognition of the huge investment he has made in the team. I’ve no doubt he will be a valuable member of our leadership group, as will Callum who was voted in for the first time last season.

“We have a number of emerging leaders across the team, and so while we have reduced the leadership group from eight members to five, opportunities and responsibilities will continue to present for others.

“With nine new players and a new facility on the horizon we have a lot to be excited about in season 2020, so I’m looking forward to watching our players progress in the year ahead.”