MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 28: Brayden Maynard of the Magpies runs with the ball during the AFL Round match between Richmond v Collingwood at Melbourne Cricket Ground on March 28, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Herald Sun writer Mark Robinson has revealed his mid-season All-Australian lineup, with plenty of stars left out of the the 22-man side, per The Herald Sun.

The 2020 season has been like no other, with a reduced fixture and hubs just some of the unforeseen additions that make up the dynamic season that is this year.

The key omissions in Robinson’s side include reigning-Brownlow medalists Nat Fyfe, while growing sensations Patrick Cripps and Marcus Bontempelli also remain without a nomination.

A number of names have risen to earn the title as we look to conclude the first half of the season, with the chosen defensive lineup perhaps owning a number of potential newcomers for an All-Australian selection.

Western BulldogsCaleb Daniel has made the half-back flank for his precise use of the ball, while Collingwood’s Brayden Maynard and Carlton’s Jacob Weitering have earned call-ups thanks to their respective lock-down roles.

Small forward selections may have given Robinson the most headaches, with Dan Butler, Toby Greene and Coleman Medal leader Tom Papley all being selected in the attacking third ahead of Brisbane’s Charlie Cameron.

Port Adelaide midfielder Travis Boak has enjoyed another strong season for the Power, earning place in the middle of the ground as well as the captaincy role.

Robinson considered Port coach Ken Hinkley for the coaching position, along with Stuart Dew and Brett Ratten, with the Herald Sun writer selecting the latter for his reign and gain with the Saints.

Across the board 12 teams manage to find a selection, with Geelong and Brisbane having the most players elected with three each.

Mark Robinson’s mid-season All-Australian team: 

FB: Dane Rampe, Jacob Weitering, Brayden Maynard

HB: Nick Haynes, Harris Andrews, Caleb Daniel

C: Hugh McCluggage, Travis Boak (captain), Mitch Duncan

HF: Toby Greene, Charlie Dixon, Dustin Martin

FF: Tom Papley, Tom Hawkins, Dan Butler

R: Max Gawn, Christian Petracca, Lachie Neale

IC: Jack Steele, Patrick Dangerfield, Jack Macrae, Brad Sheppard