The AFL has released the 22under22 team for 2020, with Essendon young gun Andrew McGrath named skipper of the side.

It marks McGrath's fourth straight selection in the team, with teammate and best and fairest winner Jordan Ridley joining him.

The 2020 final team features 14 first time selections and four players who have been nominated for AFLPA MVP (McGrath, Ridley, Sam Walsh and Jacob Weitering).

St Kilda, Fremantle and Gold Coast were rewarded for their promising seasons with three players from each club represented in the final squad, the most out of all 18 teams.

Speaking on the AFLPA website, McGrath spoke of the honour in his final year of eligibility for the squad.

“To see the impact these players have on games throughout the season is inspiring for all and a real look into the future of our game,” he said.

“To be recognised as captain is also a proud moment as there are so many outstanding young leaders among this group.

“I can’t wait to see how they all develop both as people and players in the coming years.”


B: Jack Lukosius (Gold Coast), Jacob Weitering (Carlton), Jordan Ridley (Essendon)

HB: Hunter Clark (St Kilda), Noah Balta (Richmond), Liam Baker (Richmond)

C: Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane Lions), Andrew McGrath (Essendon), Sam Walsh (Carlton)

HF: Zak Butters (Port Adelaide), Aaron Naughton (Western Bulldogs), Gryan Miers (Geelong)

F: Izak Rankine (Gold Coast), Max King (St Kilda), Josh Daicos (Collingwood)

FOL: Sean Darcy (Fremantle), Bailey Smith (Western Bulldogs), Tim Taranto (GWS Giants)

I/C: Nick Coffield (St Kilda), Andrew Brayshaw (Fremantle), Adam Cerra (Fremantle), Ben King (Gold Coast)

Captain: Andrew McGrath

Vice-captain: Jacob Weitering