As Tasmania edges closer to being granted the AFL's 19th licence, the board for the prospective new club has been announced, with triple-premiership Tiger Jack Riewoldt revealed to be taking on a fitting role with the organisation.

Riewoldt, who capped a glittering playing career for Richmond in August, will take on the role of Tasmania's culture leader after playing an instrumental part in leading the Tigers to three flags between 2017-20.

As the Tasmanian club begins its set up towards their debut season, another piece of the puzzle has been put into place as the team's board of directors becomes public.

The board culminated after nominations made by former Richmond president Peggy O'Neal, AFL CEO-elect Andrew Dillon, inaugural Chair of Tasmanian team Grant O'Brien, and former Australian Olympic diver Elizabeth Jack.

Riewoldt, in anticipation of his new role, released a statement in conjunction with the club, highlighting his excitement at being able to play a vital role for his home state's team.

"The fabric will represent each and every strand that makes up the rich tapestry of our club ... Who we are, what we stand for, what we believe in, our history, and our collective vision for the future," Riewoldt explained.

"I am excited to be able to play a role in ensuring that the culture of this club is one where every Tasmanian has a sense of connection, belonging, and pride."

The club's board boasts a vast amount of expertise to assist in the development of the club, including James Henderson, who currently manages AFL coaches Alastair Clarkson and Chris Fagan, fuelling speculation that one of the two may eventually claim the title of head coach of the Tasmanian side.

Kathy Schaffer has been handed the responsibility of resolving the controversial new stadium as it awaits approval from the local government, with the granting of Tasmania's licence ultimately hinging on that prospective achievement.

Alicia Leis holds the role of finding a location for the club headquarters, which is slated to include training facilities for the men's, women's, VFL, and Academy sides.

The board will be officially unveiled on Wednesday in a Launceston-based ceremony to celebrate the inaugural group of directors as the collective prepares itself for the likely 2028 season launch. The complete board of directors for the Tasmanian club is below.

Tasmanian AFL club board of directors:

(Chairman) Grant O'Brien - Tourism Tasmania chairman and AFL taskforce member

Kath McCann - Beacon Foundation COO and former Tourism Tasmania director of marketing

James Henderson - Talent manager, AFL taskforce member, and marketing director

Alastair Lynch - Former AFL premiership player and current media presenter

Alicia Leis - Accountancy firm partner, UTAS audit, and risk committee chairwoman

Roger Curtis - Law firm managing director and former Tasmanian Football League commissioner

Laura McBain - Former Bellamy's Australia managing director

Graeme Gardner - First Nations People Advisor

Kathy Schaefer - Former Central Coast Council general manager

A board for women's football is also in the process of being compiled. That extensive process will be headed by Football Tasmania Board Member and Lauderdale FC President Julie Kay.