Port Adelaide young gun Conor Rozee has claimed his maiden John Cahill Medal following a breakout season at Alberton in 2022.

Rozee, who averaged 23.18 disposals, 4.05 marks, 3.82 tackles and 4.09 inside 50s per game from 22 appearances this year, edged out veteran midfielder Travis Boak and utility Dan Houston to win the award.

The 22-year-old polled 132 votes on Monday night, 30 ahead of Boak, who was pushing for his third best and fairest.

2021 Brownlow Medal winner Ollie Wines and hard-nosed onballer Sam Powell-Pepper rounded out the top five for the award.

“To the football club, the recruiting staff and Ken for picking me up. It's pretty special I got to stay home in South Australia with my family and friends,” Rozee said after accepting the award.

“There's only two clubs in South Australia so the odds were pretty slim but as I've grown as a person I've been fortunate to be able to stay around my family and friends.

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 09: Connor Rozee of the Power kicks the ball during the 2022 AFL Round 17 match between the Port Adelaide Power and the GWS Giants at the Adelaide Oval on July 09, 2022 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by James Elsby/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

“To the entire football club - it takes a lot of people to run a football club, not only in the football department but also those who do work behind the scenes. Thank you.”

Rozee was also recognised as the most improved player to claim the Coaches' Award, while Boak was honoured with the Fos Williams Medal as Port Adelaide's best team man.

Young defender Lachie Jones took home the Gavin Wanganeen Award as the best player aged under 21, while Sam Mayes claimed the John McCarthy Award for his efforts with community service.

Season Seven AFLW Rising Star winner Hannah Ewings took out the women's best and fairest, polling five votes more than star veteran Erin Phillips.

2022 John Cahill Medal Top 10

132 Votes - Connor Rozee
102 - Travis Boak
100 - Dan Houston
93 - Oliver Wines
91 - Sam Powell-Pepper
84 - Todd Marshall
83 - Zak Butters
82 - Karl Amon
80 - Ryan Burton
77 - Jeremy Finlayson