GEELONG, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 12: Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats is tackled by Dustin Martin of the Tigers during the 2017 AFL round 21 match between the Geelong Cats and the Richmond Tigers at Simonds Stadium on August 12, 2017 in Geelong, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

A new player ranking system called the ‘Player Approximate Value’ – or PAV for short (named after Fremantle great Matthew Pavlich), has been developed to reflect a player’s important on their team for any given season.

The system was created by football analysts Cody Atkinson and Sean Lawson, and incorporates the player’s contribution to the team in the three areas of the field; defence, midfield and attack.

The player then picks up three individual scores, which are added together to create their PAV rating for a single season.

Interestingly, after many experts branded Dustin Martin’s Brownlow Medal, Norm Smith Medal and premiership medal 2017 season as the best year by a player in history, according to the PAV system, it wasn’t even the best season that year.

Geelong’s Patrick Dangerfield finished with a PAV of 27.6 (11.8 for attack, 2.6 for defence and 13.2 for midfield), which was marginally better than Martin’s 26.8.

In fact, during Dangerfield’s Brownlow season in 2016, he recorded a PAV of 32.0, the best rating over the past 30 years, with the PAV dating back to 1988.

Only Jim Stynes (31.4) in 1991 and Robert Harvey (30.1) in 1998 (both Brownlow winning seasons) can boast a PAV of over 30.0 like Dangerfield.

Along with Dangerfield and Martin, Joel Selwood’s 2014 campaign (27.2) is the only other season in the last 10 years to sit inside the top 15.

PAV ratings can be found at

Top 15 PAV seasons since 1988

Player Year PAV
Patrick Dangerfield 2016 32
Jim Stynes 1991 31.4
Robert Harvey 1998 30.1
Wayne Carey 1996 29.4
Nathan Buckley 2000 28.8
Wayne Carey 1993 28.3
Wayne Carey 1995 27.9
Nathan Buckley 2003 27.9
Patrick Dangerfield 2017 27.6
Andrew McLeod 2001 27.3
Wayne Campbell 1999 27.2
Joel Selwood 2014 27.2
Simon Goodwin 2006 27.2
Stewart Loewe 1990 27.1
Dustin Martin 2017 26.8