MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 07: Simon Goodwin, Senior Coach of the Demons lines up with Co-Captains Nathan Jones (middle) and Jack Viney of the Demons for the national anthem during the 2018 AFL First Elimination Final match between the Melbourne Demons and the Geelong Cats at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on September 07, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

The Demons have unveiled their leadership group for the 2019 season.

The club will continue to be led by co-captains Nathan Jones and Jack Viney.

It is the pair’s third straight season as joint captains and Jones’ sixth season in charge.

Max Gawn and Neville Jetta join the pair to form a four-man leadership group, with Jetta replacing Jordan Lewis from 2018.

Melbourne football boss Josh Mahoney said the move into a leadership role was a natural one for Jetta.

“I have been fortunate to see Neville’s growth as a player and role model first hand over the last ten years,” Mahoney told

“He represents all of the characteristics that we want in a Melbourne person and we are glad that he has been recognised in this way.”

Mahoney explained that Lewis and the club had come to a mutual agreement about his exit from the leadership group, instead moving into a role working with coaches.

“After chatting with Jordan about the next phase in his development, we decided that he would step away from the leadership group this season and transition into a role working closely with the coaches,” Mahoney said.

“Jordan was brought to the club to improve our leadership and he should take a lot of the credit for the quality and depth that has been created.

Jordan will still play an important role assisting the leadership group throughout the year.”

Melbourne plays Richmond in Shepparton on Sunday 3rd March to kick off their JLT Community Series.