MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 06: Dustin Martin of the Tigers celebrates on the final siren during the 2018 AFL First Qualifying Final match between the Richmond Tigers and the Hawthorn Hawks at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on September 06, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Herald Sun journalist Mark Robinson has named his top 50 players heading into the 2021 season.

Reigning premiers Richmond lead the way with six selections, headlined by superstar midfielder Dustin Martin at the top of the list.

Fellow gun onballers Patrick Dangerfield, Nat Fyfe, Lachie Neale, Marcus Bontempelli, Christian Petracca and Patrick Cripps follow Martin in the top bracket of the 50-man list.

West Coast forward Liam Ryan (11th), Suns young gun Matt Rowell (22nd) and Brisbane recruit Joe Daniher (26th) lead a long list of bolters.

Eagles defender Brad Sheppard, Geelong midfielder Cameron Guthrie and Port Adelaide duo Charlie Dixon and Darcy Byrne-Jones are the only players from last year's All-Australian side to miss out on a selection.

Robinson emphasized that the list is a prediction for the season ahead, leaving out St Kilda ruckman Rowan Marshall and Tigers midfielder Dion Prestia due to injury.

Adelaide are the only club not to have a player named in the list.

Mark Robinson's 2021 pre-season top 50:

  1. Dustin Martin (Richmond)
  2. Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong)
  3. Nat Fyfe (Fremantle)
  4. Lachie Neale (Brisbane)
  5. Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)
  6. Christian Petracca (Melbourne)
  7. Patrick Cripps (Carlton)
  8. Tom Hawkins (Geelong)
  9. Nic Naitanui (West Coast)
  10. Max Gawn (Melbourne)
  11. Liam Ryan (West Coast)
  12. Brodie Grundy (Collingwood)
  13. Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)
  14. Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs)
  15. Harris Andrews (Brisbane)
  16. Lachie Whitfield (Greater Western Sydney)
  17. Jack Steele (St Kilda)
  18. Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide)
  19. Jordan De Goey (Collingwood)
  20. Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)
  21. Dylan Grimes (Richmond)
  22. Matt Rowell (Gold Coast)
  23. Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane)
  24. Luke Ryan (Fremantle)
  25. Nick Vlastuin (Richmond)
  26. Joe Daniher (Brisbane)
  27. Jeremy McGovern (West Coast)
  28. Jeremy Cameron (Geelong)
  29. Darcy Moore (Collingwood)
  30. Toby Greene (Greater Western Sydney)
  31. Luke Shuey (West Coast)
  32. Tom Mitchell (Hawthorn)
  33. Clayton Oliver (Melbourne)
  34. Michael Walters (Fremantle)
  35. Jayden Short (Richmond)
  36. Caleb Daniel (Western Bulldogs)
  37. Luke Parker (Sydney)
  38. Tom J. Lynch (Richmond)
  39. Shai Bolton (Richmond)
  40. Nick Haynes (Greater Western Sydney)
  41. Jake Lloyd (Sydney)
  42. Mitch Duncan (Geelong)
  43. Zach Merrett (Essendon)
  44. Taylor Adams (Collingwood)
  45. Steven May (Melbourne)
  46. Jacob Weitering (Carlton)
  47. Sam Walsh (Carlton)
  48. Jordan Ridley (Essendon)
  49. Bailey Smith (Western Bulldogs)
  50. Jy Simpkin (North Melbourne)