SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 24: Marcus Bontempelli of the Bulldogs celebrates a goal during the AFL First Preliminary Final match between the Greater Western Sydney Giants and the Western Bulldogs at Spotless Stadium on September 24, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Herald Sun columnist Mark Robinson has released his yearly pre-season top 50 with Western Bulldogs' captain Marcus Bontempelli being selected as the No.1 player for the upcoming season.

He is joined in a loaded top five by Dustin Martin (No.2), Nat Fyfe (No.3), Patrick Cripps (No.4) and Patrick Dangerfield (No.5).

With the Bont aged 24 and now the Bulldogs captain, Robinson is backing him to produce his best football yet and take the mantle as best player in the AFL by seasons' end.

In another notable pick, Buddy Franklin (No.11) has missed Robbo's top 10 for the first time since 2007. GWS have the most players in the top 50 with seven while West Coast and Richmond both have six.

Mark Robinson's top 50 for 2020 

  1. Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)
  2. Dustin Martin (Richmond)
  3. Nat Fyfe (Fremantle)
  4. Patrick Cripps (Carlton)
  5. Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong)
  6. Brodie Grundy (Collingwood)
  7. Max Gawn (Melbourne)
  8. Tom Lynch (Richmond)
  9. Lachie Whitfield (GWS)
  10. Lachie Neale (Brisbane)
  11. Lance Franklin (Sydney)
  12. Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)
  13. Elliot Yeo (West Coast Eagles)
  14. Josh Kelly (GWS)
  15. Tim Kelly (West Coast Eagles)
  16. Stephen Coniglio (GWS)
  17. Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs)
  18. Jeremy McGovern (West Coast Eagles)
  19. Jack Riewoldt (Richmond)
  20. Tom Mitchell (Hawthorn)
  21. Jeremy Cameron (GWS)
  22. James Sicily (Hawthorn)
  23. Michael Walters (Fremantle)
  24. Dion Prestia (Richmond)
  25. Clayton Oliver (Melbourne)
  26. Rowan Marshall (St Kilda)
  27. Luke Shuey (West Coast Eagles)
  28. Dayne Zorko (Brisbane)
  29. Tom Hawkins (Geelong)
  30. Nic Natanui (West Coast Eagles)
  31. Dylan Grimes (Richmond)
  32. Trent Cotchin (Richmond)
  33. Ben Brown (North Melbourne)
  34. Aaron Naughton (Western Bulldogs)
  35. Charlie Cameron (Brisbane)
  36. Harris Andrews (Brisbane)
  37. Jack Darling (West Coast Eagles)
  38. Shaun Higgins (North Melbourne)
  39. Jordan De Goey (Collingwood)
  40. Toby Greene (GWS)
  41. Zac Williams (GWS)
  42. Tom Stewart (Geelong)
  43. Rory Sloane (Adelaide)
  44. Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane)
  45. Ben Cunnington (North Melbourne)
  46. Adam Treloar (Collingwood)
  47. Nick Haynes (GWS)
  48. Dane Rampe (Sydney)
  49. Christian Petracca (Melbourne)
  50. Josh Dunkley (Western Bulldogs)