MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 20: Jack Riewoldt of the Tigers kicks the ball during the 2018 AFL round 18 match between the St Kilda Saints and the Richmond Tigers at Etihad Stadium on July 20, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

AFL legend Malcolm Blight has revealed his 2018 All-Australian team with a few unique selections in a column written in the Advertsider.

Blight has named all the usual suspects down back, including Tigers premiership star Alex Rance, gun Crow Rory Laird and Eagles high-flyer Jeremy McGovern.

But in a surprising twist he has not included dashing Cat Tom Stewart or Swans general Jake Lloyd, instead selecting Port backman Tom Jonas as one of his defensive pillars.

Blight opted for Collingwood skipper Scott Pendelbury in the centre, who senior journalist Mike Sheahan deemed was “no longer an A-grader” in March.

Roos Brownlow fancy Shaun Higgins finds himself on a half forward flank, while reigning Brownlow medallist Dustin Martin sits in the forward pocket.

Where are spearheads Tom Hawkins and Buddy Franklin? Tomahawk is listed on the interchange, while Franklin did not make the cut at all, as Blight chose Coleman leader Ben Brown and Tigers champion Jack Riewoldt to hold down his forward spine.

Blight picked Demons big man Max Gawn in the ruck over emerging Pie Brodie Grundy, who finds himself on the bench.

Hawks ball magnet Tom Mitchell and Blues young bull Patrick Cripps round out the on-ball brigade.

Here is Blight’s full 2018 All-Australian team, courtesy of the Advertiser.

B: Tom Jonas (PTA), Alex Rance (RIC), Shannon Hurn (WCE)

HB: Rory Laird (ADE), Jeremy McGovern (WCE), Lachie Whitfield (GWS)

C: Andrew Gaff (WCE), Scott Pendlebury (COL), Elliott Yeo (WCE)

HF: Shaun Higgins (NM), Jack Riewoldt (RIC), Steele Sidebottom (COL)

F: Luke Breust (HAW), Ben Brown (NM), Dustin Matin (RIC)

Fol: Max Gawn (MEL), Patrick Cripps (CAR), Tom Mitchell (HAW)

I/C: Brodie Grundy (COL), Tom Hawkins (GEE), Robbie Gray (PTA), Trent Cotchin (RIC)

Notable omissions: Clayton Oliver (MEL), Buddy Franklin (SYD), Dayne Beams (BL), Jack Macrae (WB), Jordan De Goey (COLL), Jesse Hogan (MEL), Daniel Talia (ADE), Tom Stewart (GEE), Jake Lloyd (SYD), Jack Darling (WCE), Patrick Dangerfield (GEE), Stephen Coniglio (GWS), Nat Fyfe (FRE), Ben Cunnington (NM), Lachie Neale (FRE), James Sicily (HAW), Dyson Heppell (ESS), Devon Smith (ESS), Joel Selwood (GEE), Justin Westhoff (PTA), Jayden Short (RIC).