Jason Ashby of the Bombers attempts to mark infront of Toby Green and Sam Reid of the Giants during the round 13 AFL match between the Essendon Bombers and the Greater Western Sydney Giants at Etihad Stadium on June 19, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

Essendon delist Jason Ashby

Essendon has delisted youngster Jason Ashby.

The 22-year-old played 12 games with the club after being recruited with pick No.34 in the 2012 National Draft.

Top Stories

“Jason is a terrific young man, and an extremely popular member of the playing group,” general manager of football Rob Kerr said.

“Competition for spots as a defender has been tough, but Jason’s resilience and hard work over the journey saw him rewarded with several opportunities to perform at senior level.

“Jason also fought his way back from injury this season to play against quality opposition in GWS and West Coast. To pull on the Essendon Guernsey is a great honour and Jason should be proud of how he developed as a player and a person during his time at the Club.

“Jason will always be welcome at Essendon, and on behalf of everyone at the Club we wish him all the very best for his future, both on and off the field.”

Ashby joins James Gwilt in being delisted by the club, while Matthew Stokes and Adam Cooney have announced their retirements.


Essendon Bombers 2017 Player Movements

2017 Gains: Joshua Begley (2018), Dylan Clarke (2018), Sam Draper (2018), Josh Green (Brisbane Lions, 2017), Andrew McGrath (2018), Ben McNiece (2017), Kobe Mutch (2018), Jordan Ridley (2018), James Stewart (GWS Giants, 2018)
2017 Losses: Jason Ashby (delisted), Adam Cooney (retired), Yestin Eades (retired), Shaun Edwards (Sydney Swans), James Gwilt (delisted), Michael Hibberd (Melbourne Demons), Nick Kommer (delisted), Tayte Pears (retired), Tom Wallis (delisted)
Re-Signed: Patrick Ambrose (2017), Tom Bellchambers (2018), Travis Colyer (2019), Matt Dea (2018), Aaron Francis (2019), Martin Gleeson (2018), Brendon Goddard (2017), Michael Hartley (2018), Heath Hocking (2017), Cale Hooker (2021), Ben Howlett (2017), Michael Hurley (2022), James Kelly (2017), Kyle Langford (2018), Jayden Laverde (2018), Jake Long (2017), Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti (2019), Conor McKenna (2017), Zach Merrett (2021), David Myers (2019), Brent Stanton (2017)
Off Contract 2017: Patrick Ambrose, Mark Baguley, Craig Bird, Mitch Brown, Joe Daniher, Brendon Goddard, Josh Green, Heath Hocking, Ben Howlett, James Kelly, Jake Long, Conor McKenna, Shaun McKernan, Ben McNiece, Jackson Merrett, Alex Morgan, Darcy Parish, Brent Stanton, Jobe Watson, David Zaharakis