MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 05: Jarryd Roughead of the Hawks high fives team mates during a Hawthorn Hawks AFL pre-season training session at Waverley Park on December 5, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

New Hawthorn captain Jarryd Roughead is back for his first game for the Hawks since the 2015 grand final.

RELATED: Jarryd Roughead named Hawthorn captain

Off-season Hawthorn recruits Jaeger O’Meara and Ty Vickery have also been named in the 29-man squad, however, Tom Mitchell will not play.

RELATED: Season Preview – Hawthorn’s Best-22 for 2017

Youngsters Dallas Willsmore and Teia Miles, who are yet to make their senior debuts, will also play.

Meanwhile, Geelong’s new recruits, Zach Tuohy and Aaron Black, will also both play their first games in the blue and white hoops.

Draftee Brandon Parfitt has also been named, while Jackson Thurlow returns for his first game following a year out of the game with an ACL injury.

Hawthorn vs Geelong

Friday 17 February, 7.40pm, University of Tasmania Stadium


2 Jarryd Roughead
4 Billy Hartung
5 Ryan Burton
6 Josh Gibson
7 Ben McEvoy
8 Taylor Duryea
9 Shaun Burgoyne
10 Jaeger O’Meara
12 James Frawley
14 Grant Birchall
16 Isaac Smith
20 Dallas Willsmore
21 James Sicily
23 Tim O’Brien
24 Ben Stratton
25 Ryan Schoenmakers
26 Liam Shiels
27 Tyrone Vickery
28 Paul Puopolo
29 Will Langford
32 Jack Fitzpatrick
33 Cyril Rioli
34 Kurt Heatherley
36 Kieran Lovell
37 Blake Hardwick
40 Kade Stewart
42 Teia Miles
43 Marc Pittonet
46 James Cousins


1. Rhys Stanley
2, Zach Tuohy
3. Brandan Parfitt
4. Andrew Mackie
5. Nakia Cockatoo
7. Harry Taylor
9. Zac Smith
11. Darcy Lang
12. Wylie Buzza
13. Tom Lonergan
15. Matthew Hayball
18. Josh Cowan
20. Ryan Gardner
22. Mitch Duncan
23. Aaron Black
24. Jed Bews
25. Lachie Henderson
26. Tom Hawkins
27. Sam Menegola
29. Cameron Guthrie
31. Jordan Cunico
32. Steven Motlop
35. Patrick Dangerfield
36. Tom Ruggles
38. Jack Henry
39. Zach Guthrie
40. Jackson Thurlow
44 Tom Stewart
46. Mark Blicavs