Having departed Collingwood just weeks on from his premiership high with the Magpies, new Hawthorn recruit Jack Ginnivan joins a small club of players who have changed sides in the off-season that came after they stepped onto the dais in the AFL.

Ginnivan's shock move to Waverley would come just 18 days on from Collingwood's thrilling four-point win over the Lions, where the crafty small forward recorded seven disposals, four marks and three inside 50s.

While his move away from the Magpies might've come as a result of Collingwood's acquisition of Fremantle sharpshooter Lachie Schultz days before the trade deadline, the 20-year-old is anticipated to reach exciting heights in the brown and gold as he starts his next chapter with the team he grew up supporting.

The move from the premiers saw Ginnivan become the first player in four years to depart a grand final-winning side the same year, with Tiger-turned-Sun Brandon Ellis the last AFL player to do the same.

After winning his second flag with Richmond, Ellis joined Gold Coast via free agency - commencing a new start at Carrara following a successful eight-year stint at Punt Road.

Ellis' move came 12 months on from champion Eagle Scott Lycett leaving West Coast's premiership side to join Port Adelaide, also as a free agent.

Between 2013-2016, Lance Franklin (Hawthorn to Sydney, 2013), Matthew Suckling (Hawthorn to the Western Bulldogs, 2015) and Joel Hamling (the Western Bulldogs to Fremantle, 2016) would also leave their respective sides soon after claiming a premiership medallion.

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 28: Jarryd Roughead and Lance Franklin of the Hawks celebrates with the Premiership Cup after the hawks won the 2013 AFL Grand Final match between the Hawthorn Hawks and the Fremantle Dockers at Melbourne Cricket Ground on September 28, 2013 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

Since the turn of the century, a total of 10 players have now moved clubs after a successful season, with Des Headland departing Brisbane at the end of 2002 for Fremantle.

Port Adelaide premiership pair Josh Carr and Jarrad Schofield would both depart the Power following the club's maiden AFL premiership in 2004 with moves to Fremantle, while Geelong ruckman Steven King left the Cats following their drought-breaking grand final win in 2007.

According to AFL history and statistics consultant Col Hutchinson, AFL greats Ron Barassi (Melbourne 1964), Norm Smith (Melbourne 1948) and Alex Jesaulenko (Carlton 1979) would also depart premiership-winning teams.

Barassi would go on to win two premierships with Carlton as their coach following his departure from Melbourne, with others that have left premiership sides often not too successful afterwards.

1999 North Melbourne premiership figure Cameron Mooney is the only player since the 1920s to win a premiership as a player immediately after moving on from a grand final-winning team.

Embed from Getty Images

Following his switch to Kardinia Park ahead of the 2000 season, Mooney would play a role in Geelong's 2007 and 2009 premierships to end his career as a three-time premiership player.

Mooney is the only player since Bomber-turned-Cat Tom Fitzmaurice in 1924 who has gone on to find success elsewhere since after leaving a premiership side that same off-season. Fitzmaurice would claim a third straight flag in his first year with Geelong after winning back-to-back premierships with Essendon prior to departing.

The trend doesn't spell well for Ginnivan, despite the exciting path Hawthorn is expected to follow under senior coach Sam Mitchell over the coming years.

Ellis could also look to snap the dry spell, with his own premiership mentor Damien Hardwick heading to Queensland to help lead the Suns to their first finals appearance.