Recently-retired Fremantle stalwart David Mundy will partake in 'The Carlton Draft', joining five high-profile former league footballers in nominating for the event.

Mundy, the games record-holder for the Dockers, retired at the conclusion of last season after putting the finishing touches on a decorated AFL career that included a best-and-fairest triumph and an All-Australian berth in 2015.

'The Carlton Draft' kicked off in 2022, with six former AFL players drafted to local football clubs for a one-off match, helping to bring in much-needed revenue in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 37-year-old Mundy, who grew up in country Victoria, expressed his confidence in being able to run out the contest and provide a spectacle for all in attendance, particularly given his regional roots.

"I am fresh out of the game, I have plenty in the tank and I am feeling confident that I will be able to run out the four quarters in the guts and put on a show for the local community," Mundy said in a statement.

"Having grown up in country Victoria, it would be fitting if a club from in or around the Seymour region drafted me. I grew up at the footy club, so I understand what local footy means to so many in the community. Irrespective of it all, I am just excited to put my hand up and provide them a day they won't forget."

Questioned on whether he would consider entering the mid-season draft following his appearance in 'The Carlton Draft', Mundy jokingly remarked "never say never" before mentioning that club recruiters might be present.

"Never say never, my body feels good, and maybe once they know where I will play, a few recruiters might come out and watch," he continued.

"We will see what happens, but my focus will be providing my knowledge and experience to help, win a game of footy, and enjoy a cold Carlton Draught with the locals afterwards."

Mundy joins Nathan Buckley, Jordan Lewis, Bernie Vince, Kane Cornes, and Josh Kennedy, who were previously announced as participants.

Entries for the 2023 Carlton Draft, set to be televised on Fox Footy, close on March 27, with the six winnings clubs set to be announced in early April and matches commencing from May 1.