The VFL has named a 50-player squad to take on the SANFL in what will be the former's first representative game in seven years.

Standalone club Werribee has the most selections, with eight following the Tigers' grand final finish to the 2023 season, while Queensland club Southport trail with six selections after the VFL selectors also consulted with list managers as well as factoring in last year's form.

Reigning premiers Gold Coast are without a selection - likely given their lack of strictly VFL-listed players - joining GWS as the only side with no representation in the squad.

23 of the 50 players named have previously been listed in the AFL, including Callum Brown (Box Hill), Jackson Hately (Essendon), Joel Garner (Richmond), Tom Highmore (Port Melbourne) and Lachie Young (Carlton)

A final 23-man squad will be finalised ahead of the match against the SANFL on Saturday, April 6 in Glenelg.

Box Hill senior coach Zane Littlejohn will coach the 'Big V', with Steve Daniel (Southport Sharks), Ben Hudson (Brisbane Lions) and Adam Skrobalak (Port Melbourne) also making up the coaching panel.

Box Hill Hawk Callum Brown VFL (Image via Box Hill Twitter)

The VFL will consider players from outside of the 50 players picked, keeping in mind the opening weeks of the home and away season, which gets underway this Friday.

VFL State Team Squad

Name Surname Club
Callum Brown Box Hill Hawks
Tyler Brown Box Hill Hawks
Cal Porter Box Hill Hawks
Kyle Dunkley Brisbane Lions
Ewan Macpherson Brisbane Lions
Ned Cahill Carlton
Lachlan Young Carlton
Campbell Hustwaite Casey Demons
Roan Steele Casey Demons
Mitch White Casey Demons
Flynn Gentile Coburg
Sam Glover Collingwood
Ned Long Collingwood
Jackson Hately Essendon
Xavier O'Neill Essendon
Trent Bianco Footscray Bulldogs
Josh Chatfield Footscray Bulldogs
Phoenix Spicer Footscray Bulldogs
George Grey Frankston
Trent Mynott Frankston
Bailey Van De Heuvel Geelong Cats
Sam Lowson North Melbourne
Jack Watkins North Melbourne
Jean-Luc Velissaris Northern Bullants
Tom Highmore Port Melbourne
Harvey Hooper Port Melbourne
Robbie McComb Port Melbourne
Roarke Smith Port Melbourne
Mutaz El Nour Richmond
Joel Garner Richmond
Lachlan Street Richmond
Hugo Hall-Kahan Sandringham
Darby Hipwell Sandringham
Brayden Crossley Southport Sharks
Jacob Dawson Southport Sharks
Hugh Dixon Southport Sharks
Ben Jepson Southport Sharks
Max Pescud Southport Sharks
Boyd Woodcock Southport Sharks
Jake Bartholomaeus Sydney Swans
Dom Brew Werribee
Nathan Cooper Werribee
Kye Declase Werribee
Hudson Garoni Werribee
Nick Hayes Werribee
Jack Henderson Werribee
Sam Paea Werribee
Louis Pinnuck Werribee
Tom Downie Williamstown
Brodie McLaughlin Williamstown