SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 09: Joe Daniher of the Bombers celebrates after kicking a goal during the AFL Second Elimination Final match between the Sydney Swans and the Essendon Bombers at Sydney Cricket Ground on September 9, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Joe Daniher has won his first Essendon best and fairest, narrowly edging out Brendon Goddard and captain Dyson Heppell.

The exciting forward became the third Daniher to win the Crichton Medal, following in the footsteps of uncles Neale and Terry, won the award in 1981 and 1982 respectively.

Daniher enjoyed a career best season in 2017, kicking 65 goals finishing third behind Lance Franklin and Josh Kennedy in the Coleman Medal race and winning the Mark of the Year.

Young gun Zach Merrett finished fourth, while David Zaharakis rounded out the top five.


  1. Joe Daniher 451
  2. Brendon Goddard 441
  3. Dyson Heppell 440
  4. Zach Merrett 439
  5. David Zaharakis 412
  6. Michael Hurley 395
  7. Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti 386
  8. Orazio Fantasia 354
  9. Cale Hooker 351
  10. James Kelly 344

Meanwhile, Geelong star Patrick Dangerfield has won back-to-back Carji Greeves Medals, making it three club best and fairest awards in as many years, after winning Adelaide’s Malcolm Blight Medal in 2015.

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA – SEPTEMBER 15: Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats looks on during the 2017 AFL Second Semi Final match between the Geelong Cats and the Sydney Swans at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on September 15, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Dangerfield, who averaged 29.9 disposals and kicked 45 goals in 2017, finished the count on 240 votes, 14.5 votes ahead of second placed Mitch Duncan and 20.5 ahead of Irishman, Zach Tuohy.

Tom Stewart was named best young player after a stellar first season at the club, where he played 21 games and become a key member of the side’s defensive unit.

SEE ALSO:  Daisy should umpire a local footy game: Dangerfield


  1. Patrick Dangerfield 240
  2. Mitch Duncan 225.5
  3. Zach Tuohy 219.5
  4. Joel Selwood 213.5
  5. Tom Stewart 195
  6. Sam Menegola 194
  7. Lachie Henderson 190
  8. Zac Smith 188
  9. Jed Bews 187
  10. Harry Taylor 186.5