MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 03: Wayne Carey addresses the audience after he was made an inductee of the AFL Hall of Fame at the 2010 Australian Football Hall of Fame induction dinner at Crown Palladium on June 3, 2010 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Mark Dadswell/Getty Images)

2008 Brownlow Medalist Adam Cooney has come up with a unique list on SEN Afternoons on Friday, selecting the best AFL player in history from each state.

Cooney decided to group New South Wales and the ACT together, allowing him to pick seven players across the game’s history, ranging from three-time Brownlow Medalists to dominant full forwards.


South Australia

Ken Farmer

  • 224 games for North Adelaide from 1929-1941
  • 1417 goals
  • Two-time North Adelaide premiership player
  • 13-time North Adelaide leading goal-kicker
  • SANFL all-time leading goal-kicker
  • SANFL Team of the Century
  • Australian Football Hall of Fame inductee (1998)